Make memories

Hawaii 014-A

Hawaii.  Isn’t the sky pretty?

I miss my hula class, which is on hiatus during August and September.  Class resumes on October 2.  Meanwhile, my body has gotten really sluggish from my sedentary existence.  It doesn’t help that I have been snacking on lemon cookies and Hershey’s kisses.  I just love sugar too much and that has resulted in weight gain.

Thank goodness for air conditioning.  It’s been really hot and muggy lately, and if it’s anything I hate it’s perspiring.  I prefer to feel cool and dry.

We’ll be having dinner with my in-laws at the Prince Court Restaurant tonight.  On Monday, they will fly back to Boston, where they reside.  Their daughters are really lucky that they get to go on vacation with their parents.  David and I have never done that with our children.  When our kids travel, they do so on their own dime.  Lisa paid for her three week trip through Europe, and Maria paid for her six week stay in Korea.  We didn’t have the income to treat them.

I am grateful that I am married to an accountant, who knows how to manage money.  We are not rich by any means, but we do live well, all things considered.  What in the world would I do without David?  Two of my favorite bloggers, Granny Annie and Olga, recently lost their husbands.  My heart goes out to them, and I wish them well.  If David were to die suddenly, I would be bereft of my confidante, lover, and companion.  No one could ever take his place.

Make memories while you still can.

10 Responses to “Make memories”

  1. Denise Says:

    How sad to hear of Grannie Annie and Olga’s loss. My deepest condolences to them.

  2. Christine Says:

    sorry to hear of your friends’ loss. We’ve always taken our kids on vacation with us since they were babies.

  3. DJan Says:

    You are indeed fortunate to have such a wonderful life partner. I feel the same about my guy, and I give thanks every day that we are together. I know you cherish every moment with David. 🙂

  4. anyone4curryandotherthings Says:

    Condolences to Grannie Annie and Olga – they now need friends like you even more .
    I too lost my first husband after a long illness and I thought my life too would be at an end as well – until 2 years later I met my Jo, my husband now for the past 11 years – he tells me quite often that we are on a honeymoon “foreever” 🙂 – and you are right – we do everything to have our special wonderful memories when we are too old and feeble to travel any longer. Carina 🙂

  5. granny annie Says:

    You cannot prepare no matter how much you think you can. But you are so right about making the moments count. Enjoy every new day together:) You and David seem made for each other.

  6. ~L. Says:

    It is a matter of what is important to them, regardless of whether or not their parents paid for their trip or the kids paid their own, it might be that it is about connecting back to family, or connecting to where they came from. For some folks it might be more important to go on a safari.

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I can relate in imagining the loss of my life mate. I have no idea how I would cope.

  8. L...w Says:

    We too did not have the extra vacation money to go on family trips together when the kids were little. I think it’s great that your daughters are independent minded to buy their trips on their own dime.

  9. Olga Says:

    Thank-you for the kind words on my blog, Gigi. Mike and I were together for twenty years and we really were planning twenty more, but life threw us a curveball. I am putting one foot in front of the other and trying to hold onto what was and not dwell on what might have been. Others have gotten through this kind of heartache and i know that I will make my way, but it sure is painful right now. All the thoughts from friends and family, including the blogging community, sustain me.

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    When I begin to fret about David’s age and longivity, my daughter reminds me to “stop cleaning up the wreckage of the future.” Dianne

Leave a Reply

