Will I have to speak French?

Hawaii 016-A

Hawaii.

David and I spent a leisurely Sunday at home, while Lisa went to the beach.  No, she wasn’t stung by jelly fish.  This afternoon, my in-laws will come by to visit until they have to depart for the airport.  Their plane leaves at 9:00 pm tonight.

My friend, Dawn, who is a librarian and author, told me she intends to follow my practice of donating a box of my books to charity.  When I donate, I deduct the full retail price of my books from my taxes.  This is even better than selling my books, because I don’t have to pay the bookstore a commission and I don’t have to pay taxes on my income.  Wonderful!  This year, I have donated a box of my second memoirs and a box of my third memoirs to Goodwill.  A win-win situation.

A blog friend, Denise, whom I recently met in Washington, DC, has a folksy writing style.  In August and September, she has been blogging about her tour of various national parks on the mainland.  (Do click on her name on my blogroll.)  I suggested that she consider submitting her posts to a travel magazine as well as consider writing a book or memoir of her experiences.  I definitely would be her first customer!

I can hardly wait for our trip to France next year.  Several times, I have mentioned that we would be dining at the TOP of the Eiffel Tower.  But, then, I realized that the top of the tower is pointed.  How could it possibly hold a restaurant?  I googled and discovered that there is a restaurant on the first level and a more upscale restaurant on the second level of the tower – none at the top.  Common sense prevailed!  I just hope we are successful in securing a table at one of the restaurants there.  If I call for a reservation from Hawaii, will I be expected to speak French?

I’m the one who flunked third year French in college…

10 Responses to “Will I have to speak French?”

  1. Beatrice Says:

    In France people don’t like to speak English, so you’d better get your books out…….
    ི♥ྀ
    Beatrice

  2. Olga Says:

    Concentrate on getting down a few key phrases, and people will be impressed with the effort.

  3. DJan Says:

    I suspect for making reservations, someone might be available to take calls from other countries and speak enough English to help you. I look forward to hearing how it goes. 🙂

  4. Suzanne Says:

    Sounds like a great trip ahead. I went to Paris years ago. Most French people know English. I found they appreciated if I tried to speak French and were more likely to listen to me in English after I gave up.

  5. Grannymar Says:

    Why not ask one of your guides on the river cruise to help you or call ahead?

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I wondered if you knew there was no restaurant on top of the Eifel Tower, but said nothing because things change. I haven’t been there in a couple of years. As for French, you will be fine. The French were very kind to me and I speak Spanish. I tried learning a few words of French before I went, but it was so bad, one fellow said, “Speak English please.” I don’t think they like to hear anyone butcher their language. Dianne

  7. Christine Says:

    I’m sure you can find someone to speak English at the French restaurant! Lovely to have relatives visiting.

  8. Denise Says:

    Sounds like you had a lovely time and your plans for next year’s vacation are interesting. Eating at a restaurant within the Eiffel Tower would be so much fun, especially at night when looking at the lights of the city. Thank you for mentioning my blog too Gigi, much appreciated.

  9. Linda Says:

    Sounds like a great time, Gigi. I am a regular follower of Denise’s blog and I agree with what you said. That was very kind of you. As far as French goes, I am fluent in French. English is my mother tongue, but I speak French very well. French is the first language here in Quebec. 🙂 It never hurts to brush up on your French a bit when you are visiting a place where French is their native language. If people see you are trying to speak their language, even if you don’t speak it very well, they will try to help you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

