Window shopping

David and I decided to get some exercise by window shopping at Ward Warehouse, which is a low rise shopping complex in Honolulu.  We had fun looking at the various items behind the glass.

Ward Warehouse 002-A

This was an artistic display at Nohea Gallery.  We were disappointed to learn that our son in law no longer shows his etched glassware there.

Ward Warehouse 005-A

Aren’t these gowns beautiful?  I love the colors.

Ward Warehouse 006-A

I was sorely tempted to purchase this green hat, but David dragged me away from the window.

Ward Warehouse 008-A

At the end of our walk, we decided to have lunch at The Old Spaghetti Factory on the second floor.

Ward Warehouse 010-A

Here we are in the restaurant.

Ward Warehouse 011-A

David ordered spaghetti with Sicilian meatballs.

Ward Warehouse 012-A

I ordered spaghetti with marinara sauce and mushrooms.  This all came with a loaf of bread and green salad.

Ward Warehouse 013-A

For dessert, we had refreshing spumoni ice cream.

I guess the moral of this story is:  Exercise first, then treat yourself to a nice meal.

On the way to our car, we saw an elderly man pushing a walker slowly towards the restaurant.  I hope we don’t end up like that ten years from now.  Give thanks that we can still walk without assistance.  There’s so much to be grateful for, isn’t there?

20 Responses to “Window shopping”

  1. granny annie Says:

    You MUST go back for that hat! It is you.

  2. Olga Says:

    Sounds like a pleasant way to get a bit of exercise. A good lunch never hurts either.

  3. Christine Says:

    what a fun day, love the window shopping!

  4. DJan Says:

    You look very pretty in that picture, Gigi. Red suits you.

  5. Linda Starr Says:

    you look great in red, must scroll back and see how your trip was, ever so sorry I missed meeting up with you, once we get our house, perhaps you can come to visit, we’ll have room, more on the blog soon

  6. Jeanie Says:

    I have to give the guy you saw credit for being out and about, even though he had to use a walker.
    I think you should definitely go back and get the green hat.

  7. Suzanne Says:

    You guys look great and the food looks delicious.

  8. Grannymar Says:

    One more hat and you would have one for every day of the week!

  9. L...w Says:

    I guess if you ate the nice meal first, exercise would be a downer lol

    Treating yourself well is not something to take for granted….I found myself angry lately and think that perhaps I’m not enjoying life as much as I should. Time to do so (if I can)??

    • gigihawaii Says:

      What would make you happy? For me, it’s my house and my family. Money in the bank, too. LOL.

    • L...w Says:

      My family…but they are also a source of worry. Clothes…I never buy what I like, only what is a good value and practical. Everything we do has to make financial or practical sense (my parents were sooo like this). What made me snap out of my depressed feeling this weekend was husband telling me, what if I told you we have only 10 years left to live. Suddenly I stopped feeling so depressed. I then realized it’s because I’m not enjoying life and going after what I want. Even taking our annual vacation is more a ritual (so we don’t become “employees”).

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Lots to be grateful I think. With arthritis, we all end up pushing a zimmerframe. Dianne

  11. Kittie Howard Says:

    Each day is a treasure — it’s beautiful how you and David are making the most of those treasures but, hmm, you need to go back and get that green hat. The color’s gorgeous!

  12. naquillity (@naquillity) Says:

    i absolutely love that flowered canvas and the green dress in the window. that green hat would have suited you quite nicely. dinner looked great. hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

