Music and sound therapy

Leigh Ann Phillips 002-A

Here I am on the left with my friend, Miho.  We were at a Pen Women meeting to hear Leigh Ann Phillips speak on the topic, “Music, Sound and the Eyes of the Night: Utilizing Sound, Mantra and Dreamtime to Enhance Creativity.”

Leigh Ann Phillips 008-A

This is Leigh Ann Phillips, who is an award-winning singer, song writer, sound healing practitioner, lecturer, and teacher.  She is on a mission to merge sound and music to assist people in leading more fulfilling lives in healthier bodies.

Leigh Ann Phillips 010-A

Leigh Ann has developed a method of shifting and slowing the brain states, allowing people to not just relax but release emotional blocks that are causing dis-ease in the body.

Leigh Ann Phillips 011-A

Her method incorporates the crystal singing bowls, harp, tingshaws, tuning forks, herbal medicine, piano and her voice.  She also uses the crystal bowls as percussion instruments, allowing the vibration of sound to run even deeper throughout the body.

Leigh Ann Phillips 012-A

See her website:

www.leighannphillips.com

I left the meeting, feeling very relaxed and peaceful.  Even the traffic on Nimitz Highway didn’t interrupt my alpha state.  I wish I could feel like this every day for the rest of my life.  Creativity comes much easier when we are in a harmonious state.

13 Responses to “Music and sound therapy”

  1. granny annie Says:

    I need a peaceful interlude in my life right now.

  2. Christine Says:

    Very interesting. i’ve also been hearing about horse therapy. Both therapies could help people with disabilities

  3. DJan Says:

    It sounds like it was a very informative and relaxing meeting. The pictures added a lot to your words, too.

  4. Olga Says:

    Wow. I have been looking for some musical background to use at Mike’s memorial/celebration of life…and when I checked out your link there was a review of Philips’ new album–Mik’ael. I so believe in signs and angels talking to us. Thank-you for this timely post!

  5. Denise Says:

    Fascinating! I have always thought melodic music could take a person into a more relaxed state of mind. I get the same feeling sitting down by a river, closing my eyes and listening to the sounds of nature.

  6. naquillity (@naquillity) Says:

    sounds like a very nice therapy session was had. i agree that it’s easier to be creative when we are in a harmonious state of mind. have a great day~

  7. Grannymar Says:

    I am a fan of music to set a mood or change as the case may be.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Sounds very relaxing. I love crystals. Dianne

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    I have always loved music, but lately I seldom have it on except when I walk. Rock music on my iPod is great for setting a beat for fast walking.

  10. L...w Says:

    Thanks for the introduction to wonderful, higher vibrational sounds. We love Enya music and listen to the Enya music channel on Pandora. I wonder if her music is already in this channel. I’m all for finding ways to use music and sounds, colors, juxtaposition of objects such as stones in a beaded necklace etc. to increase one’s consciousness. Everything in life gives off a vibrational frequency and we can communicate a particular frequency to others by the selective arrangement of what we choose. Hopefully the frequency that we create is a higher vibrational frequency. I sometines feel crazy believing this but I’ve been on this path since the late 80s. Not sure yet what “art” I will do in my retirement but I’m convinced it’s true.

Leave a Reply

