What’s your hobby?

Hawaii 001-A

Hawaii.

David and I had planned to visit the Foster Botanical Garden in Honolulu today, but we decided that it might be better to wait for a cooler season to do so.  September is the hottest month in Hawaii and walking outdoors is very unpleasant.

Do you like to look at plants and gardens?  While I appreciate the work and imagination that go into creating a beautiful habitat for trees, shrubs, and flowers, I am unwilling to do the work.  Just digging a hole in our backyard is extremely difficult, as the ground is very hard.

I suppose we could hire our yardmen to make our landscape designs a reality.  But, we already pay them $100 a month for an hour’s work.  More landscaping would be expensive.

I am toying with the idea of having a container garden in our patio, instead.  Not many people see our backyard, but many do look at our patio when they sit in our living room.

David waters the Boston ferns and potted palms on a regular basis.  Would he like to water plants in the patio, too?  He might consider taking up gardening as a hobby.  Now that he is retired, he could read about fertilizers, types of potting soil, and ideal light conditions for various plants and really take an interest in growing things.

It sure beats watching television all day.

Me?  Culinary arts and blogging constitute my hobbies.  I’ll leave patio gardening to my husband.

What’s your hobby?

14 Responses to “What’s your hobby?”

  1. Olga Says:

    I like the way you are looking for a hobby for hubby. My garden is not exactly a work of art, but it does give me a sense of satisfaction to be out there in the springtime. By this time of year, I am getting sick of the work, though. I am not a true gardener.

  2. DJan Says:

    Well, you know what my hobby is, and I don’t think there are many out there who would want to take it up along with me. 🙂

  3. Beatrice Says:

    Hobbies? ♔ Too many to mention:
    flowers, photography, pets + rescue, TV, interieur design, art, travelling, handicrafts, sailing, history, sewing, antiques, pre-history, reading, writing, beading + minerals…….more? 😉
    Beatrice

  4. Christine Says:

    regarding digging a garden, I usually wait until after it rains the ground softens! My hobby is blogging and art I guess! It’s important to have hobbies!

  5. granny annie Says:

    This weekend culinary art has been my hobby. I am expecting a visit from a childhood classmate on the 24th and practicing on my menus for her visit seems like a good idea.

  6. L...w Says:

    Sad to say I don’t like the kitchen but in retirement I will force myself to learn a few dishes. It’s a miracle our children grew up without missing a meal lol I literally have forgotten how to cook.

    I love reading blogs and recently found ALLTOP to search for new interesting blogs on various subjects. I love watching youtube videos on HOW TO…so fun to see demonstrations about any DIY you want to learn.

    Of course there is my “art” endeavor…who knows what I will do. Anything but paintings though…the paint will dry before I know where to place the color.

  7. LC Says:

    People, especially grandkids, gardening, travel, reading, blogging are my interests, but 2011 stroke has changed how I approach these interests.

  8. Suzanne Says:

    I am going to say photography. I have been trying to get better at it since my freshman year of high school.

  9. naquillity (@naquillity) Says:

    sewing has become a hobby for me lately. and i would say art journaling is too. i think your container garden would be a great idea for your patio. you’ll have to share photos of it if you get one together. have a great night~

  10. Grannymar Says:

    Any form of needlecraft, meeting new people, taking photographs and blogging are what I consider my hobbies. I have been cooking since the age of five so that is just part of my life.

  11. SchmidleysScribblings Says:

    Gardening has been a lifelong hobby. I currently have a horticulturist working on my yard every other weekend. Mostly he does the hard work. I do the fun stuff. I also like reading. I would say cooking but I find it difficult to stand at present. Perhaps i will get back to it in a couple of months. Dianne

Leave a Reply

