Dawn or Dusk?

Hawaii 003-A

Hawaii.

Yesterday, I went to bed at 3:00 pm and woke up at 6:00 pm.  I’d had a three hour nap.  Seeing David in the family room, I wondered if it was breakfast time.  I could not get my bearings for some reason.  It was so weird not knowing if it was morning or evening.  Well, after a minute I realized it was time to cook supper.

Has that ever happened to you where you don’t know if it is dawn or dusk?

If it was dawn, I wondered if I had started the day without a new blog post.

If it was dusk, I wondered why I was only now waking up.

Hilarious!

Suddenly, I realized what it was like to be either Rip Van Winkle, who woke up after a hundred year nap, or Snow White, who woke up when her Prince Charming ended a witch’s curse with a tender kiss.

I hope it isn’t an early sign of dementia…

9 Responses to “Dawn or Dusk?”

  1. DJan Says:

    I can’t remember when the last time was that I took a nap during the day. I’m sure it would disorient me, though, wondering whether it was morning or evening. 🙂

  2. Denise Says:

    I have had the same experience but not for a while. Even when sometimes you don’t realize it, there are times when you are so tired you fall into the deepest sleep, and when you wake up it’s hard for your brain to figure out where you are..

  3. Olga Says:

    I am thinking it was a sign that you were really tired and needed some extra rest.

  4. beedoo747 Says:

    We call this a “Nanna Nap” here in Australia. I take them fairly regularly, however I am someone who works the late shift at work so my sleep cycles can be out of whack a lot.. 🙂

  5. naquillity (@naquillity) Says:

    i’ve haven’t exactly questioned day or night but other things like why didn’t i get my husband ready for work on time when it wasn’t time for him to go to work yet… your picture is very soothing. hope all is well. have a great day~

  6. Christine Says:

    I sometimes lose track of what day it is.

  7. L...w Says:

    Those are the best kinds of sleep…when you wake up totally disoriented!! You probably needed that rest.

  8. SchmidleysScribblings Says:

    Goodness, you must have slept soundly. I wish I could do that in the afternoon. Dianne

  9. Grannymar Says:

    I never give in to going for a nap during the day unless I am ill. I find it difficult enough to sleep at night in the normal run of things. I do not want to end up sleeping by day and not at night.

Leave a Reply

