Grandkids and a rice cooker

The grandkids and their parents came over yesterday to watch a parade later in the afternoon.  Here are some candid shots of them:

Grandkids 001-A

So sorry that Julia’s hair is a mess.  She is holding up hand puppets I made many years before she was even born.

Grandkids 002-A

This is a photo of Rylan and Maria.  David is at the computer, looking for a new rice cooker on Amazon, because when he washed the cover to the pot, he inadvertently scrubbed so hard the rubber thingy for the hole in the cover came off and we can’t find it.  So, he has to buy a brand new rice cooker.  Amazon stated that they will not ship it to Hawaii, so David will look for one at Walmart.

Grandkids 004-A

I asked the kids to sing a song for me, but they declined.  Shucks!  There was a time when I babysat Rylan that he would sing a lot of songs he learned from watching cartoons on television.  He just bubbled over with music.  Now that he attends preschool, he apparently has other interests.  He is proud he can spell his first and last name!

Isn’t it great to have grandkids?  And good luck to David with finding a cheap rice cooker that works.  Amazon charges $26 for the Sanyo model we have, but as I said, they won’t ship it to Hawaii.  Grrrrrr.  Isn’t that discrimination?  Poor Hawaii, way out in the Pacific Ocean.

15 Responses to “Grandkids and a rice cooker”

  1. Denise Says:

    Lovely pictures of the family Gigi. I’m surprised Amazon won’t ship to Hawaii. I hope you find your rice cooker. I bought one in California years ago and it lasted me over 20 years, but then stopped working and we bought a new one. I still miss that old rice cooker!

  2. Olga Says:

    I really liked seeing the candid photos of family. David is quite the shopper. I use a regular pot to cook rice…and it does burn sometimes if I am not being attentive.

  3. Kay G. Says:

    Dear Kay,
    I love that you called the part that was lost from the rice cooker, “the rubber thingy”…I love it because I am very fond of the word “thingy” and I knew exactly what you meant!
    Love that photo of Julia with the hand puppets that you MADE, how special is that? 🙂

  4. Kay G. Says:

    Oops! I didn’t mean to call you “Kay”! I need a cup of coffee!!!

  5. Christine Says:

    your grandkids are growing up so fast! Good luck with the rice cooker!

  6. granny annie Says:

    I hate to admit this but I don’t know what a rice cooker is. We cook rice in an old pan that has been doing a great job for years. Of course sometimes it will boil over onto my stove and is a bugger to clean but it sure turns out some good rice. What is the appeal of a rice cooker?

  7. DJan Says:

    We also cook our rice in a pan, which does require watching until it boils, but it works just fine. I’ve never used a rice cooker.

  8. Jeanie Says:

    I have never had a rice cooker either. I hope David finds a good one that isn’t too expensive.
    I loved seeing the family pics.

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I love my rice cooker. I suspect Amazon is blocked from shipping certain items to Hawaii by the Hawaiian government, acting in response to local merchants. I know many other items, such as citrus also cannot be shipped to Hawaii owing to grower complaints. Also some items are verboten because they might contain pests or diseases. Lots of restrictions on what can enter Hawaii. Dianne

  10. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    Hawaii should be Rice Cooker Central. I doubt if there will be any problems in finding what you want.

  11. L...w Says:

    Your grandkids are always so well groomed, a little messy hair is just fine.

    Try Don Quixote. We love their kitchen section. We recently needed to buy an electric burner and they had many models to choose from. Other stores only had one or two. I’m sure they would have the gamut of rice cookers to choose from three cup to granddaddy models.

  12. Linda Reeder Says:

    Whew! You cover a lot of ground in a week of blogging. I am caught up but there is no way I can comment on each post as I work to catch up on my blog reading.
    But I’m here, I’m reading, and I don’t want to miss anything!
    Now maybe I can keep up day to day.

  13. lynn Says:

    beautiful grandkids my grandson is named rylan also.
    jerrie from va

Leave a Reply

