Cyber bullies

Hawaii 003-A

Hawaii.

Recently, a 12 year old girl leapt to her death in Florida.  She killed herself because she was being taunted and bullied by her peers online.  Police are investigating and have vowed to bring the bullies to justice.

Doesn’t that type of news just break your heart?  Twelve years old.  She had her whole life ahead of her.  Why are people so mean to each other?  I just don’t understand it.

I am so glad that my WordPress blog has the delete feature.  If a comment angers or hurts me, I simply delete that comment and delete that person’s name from my blogroll.  No questions asked.  I delete and the matter is closed.  I have ended a number of online friendships that way.

It takes two to have a friendship.  It can’t be one sided.  To be my friend, you have to be friendly.  No snide, rude, or insulting remarks, please!

You won’t see me jumping to my death because of someone’s cyber bullying.  Delete, delete, delete.  Let’s all say a prayer for that poor 12 year old girl and her distraught family.

10 Responses to “Cyber bullies”

  1. Christine Says:

    The news these days breaks my heart, so many atrocities worldwide.

  2. Olga Says:

    Bullying is such a sad occurrence. The fact that despite all the potential for good that technology holds, it is too often used to harm is heart breaking indeed. I think the human race has a long way to go in a spiritual sense.

  3. denise Says:

    A terrible tragedy and sadly this type of bullying is happening all the time. And now her poor family are suffering. My heart goes out to them. It’s a pity we can’t use the delete key for all bullying.

  4. DJan Says:

    This is so very sad. I agree that the delete key is very useful. I find myself deleting comments, but not very often these days. I feel very sad for the girl’s family.

  5. L...w Says:

    You have very good self esteem to know how and when to use the “delete key”. Unfortunately, not all of us know to use it. I am one who takes over where the bully leaves off and torment myself for not being better (otherwise I wouldn’t have been picked on). So I have deduced that bullys think themselves perfect and strong and can’t stand when others are not.

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    Kids have so many avenues for bullying now with out even going face to face. It’s so cowardly, and so dangerous.

Leave a Reply

