Enjoying music

Hawaii 004-A

Hawaii.

As you know, David and I were classical musicians when we were single.  His instrument was the clarinet and mine was the violin.  We both studied music history and music theory in college, so it is with a knowledgeable mind that we appreciate classical music.

We have already paid for the opera season coming up and have recently paid for the Hawaii Symphony season, as well.  This is quite a commitment in terms of time.  However, after checking our calendar, I found no conflicting engagements.

So, there you are.  Most of our Sunday afternoons will be filled with music.  I look forward to seeing Sir James Galway play his flute and Sarah Chang perform on her violin.  The programming is excellent.  Who can say “no” to Rachmaninoff, Tchaikovsky, and Beethoven?

Here is the link to the Hawaii Symphony website:

http://hawaiisymphonyorchestra.org/

Here is the link to the Hawaii Opera Theater website:

http://www.hawaiiopera.org/

I hope to see some of my Hawaii friends at the symphony concerts…and operas, too.  Be there!

12 Responses to “Enjoying music”

  1. Flo Says:

    I agree that you and David are making a serious commitment to the classics! Enjoy! Love Carmina Burana and Turandot. Musn’t forget the Ninth!

  2. The Laughing Housewife Says:

    A lovely way to spend a weekend!

  3. granny annie Says:

    Thanks to my maternal grandparents I have a place in my heart for classical music. Quite a contrast with the Grand Ole’ Opery country my fraternal grandparents taught me to love as well.

  4. Christine Says:

    Music is indeed food for the soul.

  5. Jeanie Says:

    I think it is great that you will have these events that you will both enjoy to look forward to.

  6. Olga Says:

    Beautiful music in a beautiful setting. Your life is good.

  7. DJan Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful way to spend Sundays. I look forward to hearing how you like it, Gigi. Life seems to have settled down for you and David.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    David would love this. His instrument is the piano,though he never plays it any more. Have fun.

  9. L...w Says:

    Great that you both have that interest in common!! And UH game viewing…among so many other activities. Husband and I share work but we have no other interest in common. I think you will both have a wonderful retirement together.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    I don’t think I did know that you were both classical musicians, and that you had that education background in common. While I would rather go for a walk with my rock music and watch football on Sundays, I think it’s wonderful that you can enjoy this pleasure together, and support the local arts while doing it.

  11. LC Says:

    Well worth the commitment!

Leave a Reply

