This and that

Vases 001-A

I cleaned out my shelf containing many vases and decided to donate most of them to Goodwill.  These vases I am keeping.  Pretty, aren’t they?  Now, all I need is a bouquet of flowers from a florist shop.  I stopped bringing flowers and leaves from our yard into the house, because they are infested with ants.  Nuff said.

So many people we know are in the process of downsizing their house in order to move into an apartment.  Wow!  My friend has been holding garage sales to sell her stuff.  That must be exhausting.

David and I, on the other hand, have been UPSIZING our home.  Last year, we added a silk rug from India as well as a glass coffee table.  This year, we added three oil paintings to our walls. Next year, what?

As you know, we are going to cruise up and down the Seine River in France next year.  There will be stops along the way, and we plan to add two more days in Paris before returning to Hawaii.  I want to bring home some gifts that are uniquely French.  What do you suggest?  What is France famous for?

How about handkerchiefs for the men?  Every time they blow their nose, they will think of us in France.

14 Responses to “This and that”

  1. denise Says:

    I know France has some wonderful wines!

  2. Christine Says:

    I once got some lovely chocolates from maxim’s in Paris and some herbs.

  3. DJan Says:

    I am at a loss to think what to buy for gifts from France. Of course, it might be because I was only there for a short time more than a decade ago. I do remember the coffee, it was wonderful. 🙂

  4. granny annie Says:

    All I can think of are underpants. The boys used to taunt us with “All the girls in France go around in underpants” and they would try to flip up our dresses. They would also try that dress flipping thing while singing “Lady of Spain I adore you, Lift up your dress I’ll explore you.”

  5. L...w Says:

    Hmmm…we’re the complete opposite and don’t bring home a single souvenir from all our trips. No photos either. Of course we don’t really travel, only going to Vegas, Reno and California for the most part. As I look back on all the hotels and motels we’ve stayed (I keep my notes from past trips)….gee some I don’t recall staying there. No memories at all.

    I don’t know what I would buy from Paris….maybe a hula souvenir!

  6. Suzanne Says:

    I remember paying $10 for a delicious bottle of wine when I was there many years ago. It would be hard to carry back though. They are famous for their art. Maybe something such as a mug with a painting on it.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      A mug would be nice, but I have to consider the 50 lb weight limit for my luggage. I want to buy a lot of souvenirs to give to my friends and relatives for Christmas.

  7. Joanne Says:

    You kept some beauties. Quick, some flowers….

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Chocolate croissants…..I love European chocolate.

  9. Olga Says:

    I wonder if you can ship things rather than having to stuff your suitcase. I imagine I would bring my souvenirs of France home on my hips.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    I actually did buy “Francy Pants” – underpants, for my grandchildren, from an expensive children’s shop. There were all about, “I see London, I see France, I see someone’s underpants”.
    I also brought back note cards from museum shops featuring famous painters, especially Monet. And of course, tons of photos.

  11. LC Says:

    We bring back photos for the memories, but souvenirs not so much.

    Sounds like you are already enjoying Paris as you plan!

  12. Missy Horrigan Says:

    http://www.locabarcelona.com

Leave a Reply

