Touche

Hawaii 005-A

Hawaii.

Don’t you just hate it when someone goes on and on about how much better looking she is than you?  I mean, what gall, right?  That happened the other day.

She:  “I am so much older than you, but I look half my age.  Look at my figure.  I’m not fat like you.”

Me:  “Yeah, but nobody wants to marry you.”

She was so shocked, she shut up.

I sometimes wonder why some beautiful women have never married.  Maybe, they are just so beautiful they are intimidating and men shy away from them.

As homely as I was and still am, two men have wanted to marry me.  I chose David, and the rest is history.

Thank you, hubby, for 33 years of marital bliss.

18 Responses to “Touche”

  1. Olga Says:

    I am glad you put that person in her place. Inner beauty lasts so much longer anyway.
    Also, I have seen your pictures and homely is not a word that ever came to mind. You are beautiful and you are happy.

  2. Grannymar Says:

    Enjoy Married bliss! Real beauty comes from within and not the superficial skin deep kind.

  3. Jeanie Says:

    I would guess that her bragging about herself came more from insecurity than pride.

  4. DJan Says:

    That was strange. I’ve never had anybody be so brash. They might have thought it, but it does take gall to say it out loud! 🙂

  5. granny annie Says:

    I will never get over being greeted at one of our ship reunions by a “friend” who said, “Oh Ann, you are so fat!” The only thing I could think to say was “Thank you” and I moved on.

  6. Christine Says:

    well I think you are very pretty!

  7. Flo Says:

    You are beautiful! In every way! I am so glad that you are in my life. Have a great day!

  8. Lorna Says:

    There is absolutely NO excuse for such rude, thoughtless, self-absorbed behavior. Please cross her off your “friend” list, as no one needs such hurtful criticism in their lives. Best to you!

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I look like a train wreck these days,but David says ‘you are beautiful.’
    Cannot understand that person who was so cruel to you..

  10. Denise Says:

    Not only very, very rude but cruel. Glad you were able to come up with a good come-back. As ‘beautiful’ as they seem to think they are, they sometimes hide a certain jealousy towards the person they are being cruel to, and it says a lot more about them than the person they are being cruel to. People see through that all too quickly. I have had one person continuously talk about my weight. They are slender, I am not and their remarks are very cutting. It usually takes me by surprise and I can’t think of a thing to say. You are very clever with your retort Gigi, good for you. I should take some lessons.

  11. Denise Says:

    p.s. I certainly don’t think of you as homely Gigi. Far from it and remember I have met you. You are also very enjoyable to talk with which is a true gift. Yes, I think that person was jealous of you.

  12. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    That is a very peculiar person who would do that to you. As someone who was married for 51 years, I can honestly say one of the great benefits of marriage is you get removed from all that competitive stuff ( Iwas going to say “crap” but thought you might object) :-)and dating. Being plunged into the single life by the passing away of one’s spouse is, in some ways, like returning to all the angst of high school. Who needs it? But you have to go on living, and I’m not really a hermit by nature.

  13. michelle Says:

    Hi Gigi, I’m a lurker reader…. =)

    Do not call yourself homely – from your photos you share here, you have a beautiful face.

    I try hard to remember what my parents always taught me from the time I was a little girl – if you don’t have anything nice to say, then don’t say anything at all.

    I agree with the others comments – I think if someone has to put others down instead of being kind-hearted, then they are the ones with some issues going on.

    Michelle

  14. gigihawaii Says:

    Thank you, friends, for your comments. I wasn’t fishing for compliments at all. The mirror doesn’t lie to me. In fact, since 2004 I have stopped using lipstick, eye shadow and mascara due to two episodes of Bell’s Palsy. The make up accentuates the nerve damage in my face, so that’s why I no longer use cosmetics. Yup, I am a plain Jane.

  15. L...w Says:

    I think being so vain is a big character flaw. To be vain takes so much time and energy away from others and other interests. You don’t have to envy that kind of person.

  16. Linda Reeder Says:

    I can’t imagine anyone saying a thing like that. That is not someone I would want to know.

  17. LC Says:

    That person was either blind or lying. Either way the individual must be tormented or severely stunted mentally and emotionally to spout such rubbish.

Leave a Reply

