What our parents said

Hawaii 007-A

Hawaii.

We didn’t do much of anything yesterday, which was a Sunday.  David watched football on television.  Lisa worked on her computer.  I made Portuguese Bean Soup in my slow cooker and cleaned the kitchen. It was also a time for me to reflect on my life.

I was 34 when David and I were dating and contemplating marriage.  Four parents had a say about our relationship:

My dad:  Marry David, because you and he have common interests.

My mom:  Don’t marry David, because you can do better.

His dad:  Your marriage will never last, because Gigi likes to go to discos.

His mom:  Don’t marry Gigi, because she is like your father.

Well, 33 years later, David and I are still married and sharing our common interests.  Isn’t it amazing how three out of four parents had it all wrong?  Thank goodness, we ignored their advice.

As for me, my biological clock was ticking, and I decided to stop sampling men and choose one.  All in all, it was a fine choice.

P.S.  Here’s the link to the Portuguese Bean Soup:

https://gigihawaii.wordpress.com/2012/10/23/sausage-bean-soup/

9 Responses to “What our parents said”

  1. Christine Says:

    I’d love your bean soup recipe. Your mom’s funny, lol.

  2. DJan Says:

    I’m glad you married David and have such a good life together! 🙂

  3. Olga Says:

    Your dad had it right–common interests are a good thing over the long haul. Good for you two, 34 years!

  4. Jeanie Says:

    It is a good thing that you followed your heart instead of all of that parental advice.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I am using my slow cooker today too. Great minds and all that.

  6. L...w Says:

    lol…did you ask them for their advice? I find the moms’ advices so funny having little substantive reasoning, while the men gave some practical reasons. I didn’t have an opinion when our children picked their spouses. If our children loved and needed them, there must have been a reason and I am grateful.

  7. introvertedart Says:

    wow I am glad you guys did, but it always hard to go against family. My parents had it right with my first boyfriend though 😉

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    With about 50% of marriages ending in divorce, it’s pretty hard to predict. I’m glad yours proved to be lasting.

Leave a Reply

