Why I blog

Hawaii 008-A

Hawaii.

People sometimes ask me why I blog on an almost daily basis.  They say that they would never discuss their private lives so openly for everyone to read.

Well, I see nothing wrong with it.  I enjoy writing and posting pictures of my family and travels around the world.  What’s wrong with that?

Actually, if and when blogging stops being fun, I’ll delete my entire blog.

In fact, if my doctor told me I had terminal cancer and had only a few weeks to live, well, I would most certainly delete my blog.  I wouldn’t want anyone to read it when I am dead.

Some people I know have back-up blogs.  They are so afraid that their primary blog will somehow be deleted, they deliberately copy their posts to a different blog site.  I find that so silly and would never consider doing that.

David loves to read my posts when he leaves the gym and sits in his car.  It is a ritual for him.  I guess he is a creature of habit.  When there is no new post, he asks why.

I began my gigi-hawaii blog on November 20, 2006.  Who knows when it will come to an end?  It’s still a lot of fun to write and post photos, so I’ll keep doing it for now.

Thanks for reading and commenting, folks!  I enjoy making new friends.

18 Responses to “Why I blog”

  1. denise Says:

    The reason I started blogging was to leave some kind of family record for our son. Now it has become a place for not only our family and friends to visit, but also one where I have met so many new friends. I had no idea at the time that it would be an open road to the world, one I would enjoy immensely.

  2. Suzanne Says:

    I started it as a way to journal our lives. I had no concept of how it was a common practice and I would meet others doing so.

  3. Olga Says:

    I have kept many journals over the years, starting around the age of nine. Blogging just seemed like an extension of that. Except for I would have hurt my brothers for reading my diary and I did scream at and then not talk to my mother for reading one when I was in high school. Now my blog is out there for the entire world to read, although it seems that the entire world does not really care that much. However, I have found that I really appreciate those who do read and comment–some on line and some in person. My world has expanded. It is a good hobby for me–and you, too!

  4. Christine Says:

    this reminds me I should backup my blog. I am a creature of habit like David, it must be why I keep going, as a part of my schedule. It is also therapeutic. My friend at Creative Tuesdays just decided to close it and I am sad. We do build online relationships.

  5. DJan Says:

    I love the friends I have made all over the world. They come and they go, but some stay on and on. I would certainly miss knowing about you and your days, Gigi. Glad you are still here! 🙂

  6. Jeanie Says:

    I started my blog for myself to help me remember family events and activities. It has become more than that due to the friends I have made through blogging. I will never be a daily blogger, but I am not yet ready to stop completely.

  7. L...w Says:

    I love blogs too….although I won’t ever have one (we don’t do anything fun or interesting)….I love reading blogs. Who needs books when there are blogs.

  8. Joanne Says:

    I am enchanted with all the people I visit all over the world. I could have no other reason than that.

  9. Steve Says:

    I must be like your husband (David), every morning, after reading the newspaper (online), mainly the sports section, I read your blog. Like David, if there is no new blog, by you, I to start to wonder why. Thank you for taking the time to post a new blog. Hoping you will never stop posting new blog entries.

  10. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    This is my letter to the world
    That never wrote to me.
    For love of it, sweet countrymen,
    Judge tenderly of me.

    –by Emily Dickinson

    The poem above is why I have a Facebook website which is similar to a blog in my mind, although I am considering having a blog some day. Privacy is not high on my list. I don’t say anything I don’t want to say anyway.

  11. beedoo747 Says:

    I think my family and friends would appreciate being able to read my writings when I am no longer physically of this world. So I’ll be keeping the blog online no matter what. 🙂

    I have a good friend who I worked with who died earlier this year, and I would give anything to be able to read things she wrote. I wish she had a blog. As it is, anytime I stumble across something she logged at work, it is a lovely moment of remembrance.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I am afraid that negative comments wouldn’t be deleted from my blog, as no one would be in charge. Hard to control comments when you are dead.

      • beedoo747 Says:

        You can change a setting in your blog so that once a post is XX days old, comments cannot be left on it. 😉

        This is great for protecting yourself from spam and for keeping commenters to the current threads rather than posting on very old threads where their comment will not be seen by anyone but yourself.

        Go to Settings – Discussion – under other comment settings – Automatically close comments on articles older than XX days

        While there you can set it so that first time comments must be moderated, under – Before a comment appears – if you tick both of the options there – Comment must be manually approved – Comment author must have a previously approved comment –

        Doing this means that the only people who would be able to comment would be people you know and we would not be likely to make negative comments. 🙂

  12. jenjilks Says:

    I’ve been thinking about this, what with my hospice clients and all. Thoughtful.

  13. Linda Reeder Says:

    I started blogging to report to my family on a trip we were about to take to Amsterdam and Paris and several river boat cruises in between. That was in Aprin 2008. My son had a blog then and I went to his and found a link on how to set up my own. I just looked back at some of those first posts. I see that my photos were small and much fewer that I post now, but that’s due largely to improvements in technology.

    I was surprised that I got a comment out of the blue from a stranger, my first blog friend, and still a very dear one, Kay of Musings, who lives in Hawaii now but was still in Chicago then. She said she had insomnia and was searching the web, and somehow found me.

    It’s because of those connections, hers and many more now, that I continue to blog. I like sharing my life with you and the others and in turn having you share your life with me. It’s also a good outlet for my photographs, since I have become hooked on photography also in recent years.

  14. palolo Says:

    I read your blog almost everyday. I enjoy when you write about, and post pictures of the foods you cooked or ate dining out with David.

  15. Grannymar Says:

    I like reading about life in Hawaii.

  16. The Laughing Housewife Says:

    I subscribe to my own blog and save the emails that come in. That way, I won’t lose anything.

    I would like my blog to be around after I’m dead, so people who loved me could hear me and find comfort.

Leave a Reply

