My way to learn hula

Hawaii 012-a

Hawaii.

I joined my hula class yesterday after a 2 month hiatus.  It was fun to see my classmates again and hear what they had been up to.

Periodically during the hiatus, I watched videos of the dances I had been taught and was able to master a few of them.  Remember that the hands tell the story.  Therefore, focus on learning the hand movements first, before anything else.

I found that dancing the hula without music was easier for me than dancing to music.  It was easier to count the beats and memorize the movements that way.

Actually, that’s the way my ballroom dance classes were conducted.  The women were coached separately from the men.  We were taught the footsteps without music while our instructor called out the beats.  For foxtrot, for example, we heard the instructor call out “slow slow quick quick slow slow…”

After that, we rejoined our male partners and together we danced without music, the beats being called out.

Finally, we danced to music.

Excellent way to learn how to dance!  I find it helpful to follow this routine for hula, also.

9 Responses to “My way to learn hula”

  1. Olga Says:

    My dancing is impaired by two left feet. I imagine the hula would be hopeless–adding two left hands. Maybe the initiation without music would be the way to go.

  2. DJan Says:

    Makes sense to me. Glad your hiatus is over and you can enjoy your hula classes again, Gigi.

  3. Christine Says:

    There is a technical component to dancing I guess, what fun to have started up again!

  4. Jeanie Says:

    It is good that you can get back to your class and with all that practice you will do great.

  5. Grannymar Says:

    Enjoy your hula classes again!

  6. L...w Says:

    If there are prescribed movements I guess it would be easier to master the steps before moving with the tempo. I really feel your enthusiasm to learn hula and stay with it until you master the dance. Bravo!!

  7. Suzanne Says:

    I like that. I can’t hear a beat and think someone calling it out might work for me.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I do miss dancing,but never have with David, alas.

  9. Cathy Says:

    The weeks always seem to go by more quickly when classes begin again after the summer. It’s the same here – come February it’s all go and the blank spots on the calendar soon get filled.
    Have fun this term and knock ’em dead with all the moves you learnt during the break!!
    I used to ‘tap’ and we would call out the steps and feel the beat whilst we were learning a new routine. I think the ballet mistress used to do similar things with her long stick – as well as improve stance and posture of the dancers
    Take care
    Cathy

Leave a Reply

