Brazen way to burglarize homes

Hawaii 013-A

Hawaii.

In our village newsletter recently, there was an article about a brazen way to burglarize homes.  Neighbors reported that an unmarked van parked in someone’s driveway.  The driver and his companion walked around to the back of the house, broke in through a window, and then loaded televisions, computers and other pieces of property into their van.  Then they drove away.

Sheesh!  What gall!  I just couldn’t believe it.

Apparently, the burglars observed the home for a couple of days and noted when the owners left for work.  Neighbors who witnessed the burglary thought that these men were authorized to do what they did.  It was only when the police started interviewing them that they realized what had happened.

This sort of thing could happen anywhere, not just here in Hawaii.  I believe it is important to have a security alarm that is monitored.  There was one instance in my village where the security alarm sounded, but because it was not monitored, the burglars were not apprehended.

All of our windows and exterior doors are wired and monitored.  There was one incident when a stranger appeared on my porch and frightened me with his speech.  I pressed command 9 and a piercing siren sounded.  The alarm center called the police, who arrived in five minutes.  They cased the area, but found no one fitting the man’s description.

Another time, we came home to see the window screen on the ground.  We think that a would-be burglar removed the screen, but when he saw the security wires, he left the premises.

No one should be so complacent as to think that their home is immune to crime, because it could happen to anybody anywhere.

10 Responses to “Brazen way to burglarize homes”

  1. Christine Says:

    It is such a scary thought being burglarized. The worst is if they harm you.

  2. DJan Says:

    You said it, Gigi. Anybody anywhere can be burglarized. We don’t have a security system in our rented apartment, but one of us is almost always home.

  3. Olga Says:

    Oh, thanks, Gigi, because I don’t worry enough.
    My sister’s house was broken into. I know it happens.
    I always felt safe with Mike around. Now, not so much.
    If I move, security will be a big consideration. I do have watchful neighbors and in a good way, That helps ease my mind a bit.

  4. Suzanne Says:

    You are right. I read a story recently about a teen burglarizing Las Vegas. According to the police, he only carried a backpack. He knocked on your front door, if no one answered he went around back, broken open a window and helped himself to small items such as jewelry and money. The police had been looking out for months without success. He met his end when someone was home and they shot and killed him.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    It pays to have nosy neighbors for sure.

  6. L...w Says:

    We’ve been broken into twice and once contents of our van was stolen in the night when we were sleeping. And imagine we have a fenced property too.

    How much do you pay for your monitored alarm system? I am thinking we might get one eventually. For now, my father is home all day and that keeps the burglars away.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      $25 per month. The alarm center is located in Lacey, Washington. If you are interested, try googling Custom Security Systems for more information.

      • L...w Says:

        Thanks for the info….not too bad a price for some peace of mind. Crimes are getting more bizarre and brazen these days. I like that you can force start the alarm to get police help that way JIC you can’t get to your phone and dial.

        My computer is dying…it is hit or miss that it starts. Usually the screen freezes as it tries to load.

  7. Grannymar Says:

    My house was broken into in 2003 and thankfully I was not at home. I was returning from my one and only visit to the US. The double glazed aluminium door frame was hacked out of the wall. If burglars want in, they will get in no matter how difficult you make it. I consoled myself that I was alive and unhurt and I still had my memories. Nobody could take them away from me.

  8. palolo Says:

    You are right Gigi. My home was robbed last January. Palolo has lots of home breakins. I don’t have an alarm but I have a dog now.

Leave a Reply

