What a country hick!

Hawaii 015-A

Hawaiian sky.

I don’t drink alcohol unless I am at a party or at a fine restaurant, and then, I’ll drink ONE glass of champagne or a mai tai.  The reason why I limit my alcoholic consumption to one glass is that I dislike feeling inebriated and losing self-control.

My sister, Sylvia, held a wine tasting seminar at her restaurant, Greens and Vines, recently.  I did not attend, though I was very curious about it.  There will be wine tasting on my trip to France next year, so I guess I will know what to expect at that time.

Whenever Sylvia and Pete come over for Thanksgiving and Christmas, they bring wine and champagne.  Not only that, but they bring specially shaped stemware for red wine, white wine, and champagne.  For example, red wine is served in a large balloon-shaped glass, whereas champagne is served in flutes.  Why that is I don’t know.  I mean, red wine will taste like red wine no matter what glass you use, right?

On my trip to France, there also will be cider tasting and cheese tasting in addition to wine tasting.  Of the three, I think I’ll enjoy the cheese tasting seminar the most.  I love all kinds of cheese.

I remember being a newcomer to New York City during the early 1970s and being asked to bring Brie cheese to a cocktail party.  Well, I had never seen Brie before, so I removed the white crust before placing the cheese on a platter.  Good lord, the cheese smelled like ammonia.  When I brought it to the party, I was told that the crust should not have been removed.

Live and learn!  I was so embarrassed.  What a country hick I was back then.

Would wine, cider, and cheese tasting seminars appeal to you?

P.S. Growing up in Hawaii, I ate Velveeta processed cheese, but never the real stuff.  In New York, I learned to like brie, camembert, and gouda cheese.  These days, I usually sprinkle shredded cheddar, Monterey jack, and mozzarella on top of casseroles before baking.  I think I will introduce my Korean family to brie and crackers at my Thanksgiving and Christmas parties this year.  It’s time they are introduced to real cheese.  No more country hicks in our family.

10 Responses to “What a country hick!”

  1. Christine Says:

    I went to a wine tasting in Italy, it was fun but you do get a bit tipsy, lol.

  2. Joanne Says:

    I never wanted to be too tipsy to think, either and only indulge in very special circumstances.

  3. tokyo5 Says:

    I have been to wine tasting, sake tasting and beer tasting festivals here in Tokyo.

    I love alcohol…so I enjoyed those events!

  4. ~L. Says:

    Swirl that red wine in the glass and smell the aroma when it is mixed with air. I think the taste is not only what lands on the tongue. My opinion is taste and smell are connected but I really don;t know how the shape of a glass affects taste. Maybe the champagne flute holds the bubbles better or maybe it smells better that way.

  5. DJan Says:

    I went to a red wine tasting just the other night, before a documentary showing about bordeaux wines of France. I loved it and would go to any of the ones you suggested. We were served the wine in those bowl-shaped glasses.

  6. granny annie Says:

    Well you may have saved me future embarrassment. I have never had brie cheese and would have done the same thing. Wine tastings have always left me fairly intoxicated.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    We all make those mistakes when we are young. I love Brie, but it is very fatty.

  8. Cathy Says:

    Hello Gigi
    Brie is one of my favourite cheeses – soft centre with a firm outer crust – yes the white chalky one you removed! Goes nicely with various types of crackers and some fruit – my choices are pear and grapes – oh and champers as well. Light white and just right for a quick snack on a Sunday afternoon lol
    Take care
    Cathy

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    I had to laugh to myself recently when I was in a Subway sandwich shop and the server asked a woman what kind of cheese she wanted and she said “real cheese – American”! That processed stuff is just a step up from Velveeta. I do love good, aged cheese.
    I love a light white wind with cheese, but I can’t drink much as i get a reaction much like a long lasting hot flash. and red wine and my stomach just do not like each other. Actually I prefer quality beers to wine now.

  10. Beatrice Says:

    Oooh well, wine will not taste the same in every glas….
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Beatrice

Leave a Reply

