Good times!

Julia age 4 001-A

This is a photo of my granddaughter Julia when she was 4 last year.  She plays with her soccer team every Saturday.  At first, she tried to kick the ball too hard.  Her dad taught her how to make controlled kicks, and she is doing better now.  Isn’t she adorable?  So healthy mentally, emotionally, and physically.

What were you like when you were this age?

So far, I think she has had a better childhood than I had.  But, enough said about that.  Let’s not get depressed and maudlin about the past.  Suffice it to say, I am doing well now (better than some of my siblings) despite a difficult start in life.  I always focus on today and look forward to tomorrow.  And so should you.

Last night, I baked boneless, skinless chicken thighs, sprinkled with flour mixed with cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and pepper.  Then I put a pat of butter on top of each thigh and baked the whole shebang uncovered for  50-55 minutes in a 350 F oven.  It smelled like French Toast.  This is David’s favorite recipe, because the chicken is so moist and tender.

I think the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach.  After all, we have been married for 33 years.  Isn’t that proof?

Tomorrow, I’ll attend my monthly Pen Women luncheon at the Pineapple Room.  Then in the afternoon, I’ll dance the hula with my weekly halau.

Good times!

9 Responses to “Good times!”

  1. Christine Says:

    you do have a good life Gigi, the best weather too! For a minute I thought that was a photo of one of your daughters at a young age. Pretty Julia.

  2. DJan Says:

    That is such a beautiful picture. She is adorable. I had a very good childhood, and for that I am grateful. I still get to visit weekly (via video chat) with my sister, so I am having good times, too! Enjoy your hula, Gigi! 🙂

  3. Olga Says:

    Your grand daughter looks so mature and confident. She really is beautiful.
    That is a new take on chicken for me. I will give it a try.

  4. Jeanie Says:

    What a cute picture of Julia. One of my 5 yr old granddaughters plays soccer. It is amazing how much she has improved in a couple of seasons

  5. Suzanne Says:

    She is the cutest. That recipe sounds declicious.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    She’s adorable. I had a happy childhood until I turned five. My brother was born that year and my Mom almost died. Everything fell apart after that. May your granddaughter have a better time. Dianne

  7. denise Says:

    Such a sweet photo and also wise words Gigi. Thank you also for the delicious recipe.

    I am still in Germany but wedding celebrations are now slowing down and for the first time since arriving I have been able to do some long overdue comment moderation. It has been lovely visiting. I still have a few more days being with my family and will be making the journey home in a few days. Back to doing a little sight-seeing tomorrow in the meantime

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I know my children and grandchildren had a better childhood than I did. Hopefully that’s how it should be. We should improve one generation to the next.
    I’m trying to get back to my regular routine and I’m slowly catching up with my blog friends. have fun hula-ing!

  9. Grannymar Says:

    It is wonderful that the girls are allowed to take part in all games these days.

Leave a Reply

