Enough excuses, lady

Hawaii 016-A

Hawaii.

“Good grief,” someone said.  “You live in Hawaii, and you don’t go to the beach every week?”

Nope, I don’t.  Not many of my friends and relatives do, either.  I guess it’s a case of “ho-hum, been there, done that.”

It was only when I lived abroad for seven years that I truly missed what Hawaii had to offer.  In fact, when I lived in New York City I actually took the subway to Far Rockaway Beach, because I wanted to swim in the ocean.  However, when I got there, I saw black oil shimmering on the water.  Ugh!  Unbelievable.  I don’t know how that oil got there, but after wading into the water, I saw my legs covered with oil.  That was the first and last time I went to the beach in New York.

During the early years of our marriage, David and I would picnic on Magic Island with little Maria.  We would barbecue some teriyaki chicken thighs on our hibachi and then eat a simple supper, while watching the Hawaiian sunset over the water.  I will always treasure those idyllic memories.

Then, I got pregnant with Lisa.  During my first trimester, I tried to swim laps in the pool of our condominium.  A kid dived in and coming up, he head butted me in my stomach, almost causing a miscarriage.

Now, we live in a house and don’t swim, at all.

Well, enough excuses, lady.  David and I simply must put our snorkeling gear to use and go see the colorful fish at Hanauma Bay one of these days.  Besides, we both need Vitamin D, and we don’t get it by staying indoors, watching television and reading the computer all day.

7 Responses to “Enough excuses, lady”

  1. Olga Says:

    I love to walk on the beach, but to just sitting there in the sun is not something I can do.
    I tried snorkeling, but I had to take my glasses off to put on the mask and then I couldn’t see anything. Kind of a waste. All my equipment is on loan to someone now.

  2. granny annie Says:

    My step-daughter and my god-daughter both live in California. One in LA the other in San Diego. Both live within view of the beaches and neither of them ever go. Seems crazy.

  3. Christine Says:

    your hula lessons will help with the exercise too!

  4. DJan Says:

    I live near the bay here in Bellingham, but I only go there occasionally. It’s different when you can do it whenever you want! 🙂

  5. Grannymar Says:

    I am not a fan of swimming, but love any chance to walk on a beach or scramble over rocks, a great way to build up the vitamin D.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I remember the shock the first time I saw the beaches in the NE US. Fortunately, things have changed dramatically since the 1960s. Now the NE coast beaches are quite nice, however, lined with many condos, hotels, and other buildings. I think the coastline of Oahu must be equally busy these days.Everybody loves the coasts…almost to death. Good luck in finding your bit of space.

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I like to get out of doors as much as I can. I think that’s one reason why I like gardening. I just need to be out in the natural light. And that’s why seeing the days shorten is hard. No more after dinner walks in the neighborhood.
    I am not a swimmer, but walking along a shore – ocean or sound, is something I love to do.

Leave a Reply

