Dining and dancing with friends

Hawaii 017-A

Hawaii.

The featured speaker at the Pen Women’s luncheon yesterday was Maile Meyer, who owns Na Mea Hawaii, a retail store at Ward Warehouse in Honolulu that specializes in art, literature, CDs, and other items related to Hawaii.

In fact, there were times when this store sold my books, which were published in 2003, 2005, and 2008.  Those were heady times, indeed.  Presently, I have no desire to write any more books, being content to write a blog, instead.

Maile spoke about the essence of Hawaiian culture, and that is the request for forgiveness.  “If I have offended or hurt anyone of you, please forgive me.”  This expression is often uttered by Hawaiians in social settings.

It’s always nice to chat with my friends at Pen Women meetings.  David said he would join me at future meetings.  As always, the food was delicious.

After the luncheon, I joined my hula group and reviewed some of the dances we had already been taught.  The members of this group are all senior citizens, ages 55 and up, so most of us are there just to get some needed exercise.  I think my teacher realizes that we can’t be expected to dance professionally, so she doesn’t get upset when we make mistakes.  Thank goodness for her patience!  I like my teacher a lot for that reason.

All in all, Wednesday was a day well spent, dining and dancing with friends.

12 Responses to “Dining and dancing with friends”

  1. Olga Says:

    Dining and dancing–does not get much better than that.

  2. Cathy Says:

    Have to agree with Olga – maybe a little walz with David after dinner would round the day off nicely 🙂

  3. beedoo747 Says:

    What did you have to eat? What is good at the Pineapple room? It is one of the places I would like to visit when we are there.. 😉

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I am not sure if the following dishes are on the main menu, because we were served food specially geared to our specifications: One meal consisted of teriyaki chicken, salad and egg/corn custard. Another meal included fish instead of chicken. And the third meal included tofu instead of chicken.

  4. granny annie Says:

    What books did you write? I love to collect books written by bloggers I know.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Always fun to get together with friends for a good meal. Thank you again for getting together with us this summer.

  6. Christine Says:

    What a fun day! thanks for sharing Gigi.

  7. Joanne Says:

    Definitely a good day; I would wish it for anyone.

  8. mageb Says:

    Sounds like a lot of fun. 🙂

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    It does sound like a special day, Gigi.

Leave a Reply

