Turandot

Hawaii 021-A

Hawaii.

There was a fierce thunderstorm just before David and I were supposed to leave home for the opera yesterday afternoon.  You should have seen it pour.  It was incredible.  We turned off the automatic lawn sprinkler, and then miraculously, the rain and thunder stopped and we were able to drive to the Blaisdell Concert Hall without incident.

The opera we saw was “Turandot,” composed by Puccini, my favorite composer.  If you don’t already know, this opera is famous for the beautiful aria, “Nessun Dorma.” I love this aria, especially when it was sung by the great Pavarotti, who is now deceased.

Overall, this production was excellent and received a standing ovation.  The music, acting, dancing, costumes and scenery were superb.  If you want to be entertained to the max, then do see this opera, which is basically about an unrequited love triangle, set in Peking.

As usual, we hiked up to the top row of the balcony.  We chose seats there because of the superior acoustics and view of the stage.  As you know, music rises, so it sounds better near the top of the theater.

However, David experienced problems with his hip and knee.  He said we probably should buy tickets for seats on the ground floor next year. I hope they are available, by golly.  You never know, the good seats might be gone.

13 Responses to “Turandot”

  1. Kay G. Says:

    Wow, I wish I could have been with you, sounds heavenly.
    Great photo.

  2. granny annie Says:

    What! No elevators? How do they pass the code for handicapped access?

  3. Christine Says:

    great tip Gigi, to go to the top. Glad you had a good time!

  4. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    The couple behind me brought their cute little fluffy dog to “Turandot,” a famous first in my experience. I must say the dog was very well behaved. I thought the overall production of the opera was fantastic. It had everything! Because of the new schedule, now we have to wait until March for the next opera production.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Boy, bringing a dog to the opera is crazy. On the other hand, I saw someone eating a salad in the balcony during a previous performance. It takes all kinds of people to make the world.

      • Henry Hank Chapin Says:

        Some Beagle-like hounds would be tempted to howl on certain notes. The conductor would love that. But this couple must have been confident their dog would keep quiet and still.

  5. Denise Says:

    I have seen this opera and love it too. I will be resuming my opera evening with friends very soon and am looking forward to them.

    We are back home!!! Only came back about half an hour ago and here I am already on line. I missed being in touch while away but we had a marvelous time, and in the days ahead I will post some photos of all we did. Absolutely shattered right now. The seats were so tiny on the eight plus hour flight from Germany and next time we will investigate the size and leg room on different airlines.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I love that aria from Turandot, but what a miserable story.

    My favorite comes from Mozart’s The Magic Flute…the ‘longest’ aria of the queen of the Night..you know where she hits the impossible high notes. Dianne

  7. LC Says:

    A lovely evening. Here’s hoping accommodation for hips and knees allows continued shared pleasures.

  8. Suzanne Says:

    I did not know music rose. It makes sense now that I think about it but never did before. Neat!

Leave a Reply

