Tough lifestyle

Hawaii 034-A

Hawaii.  There is something spiritual about this scene, which I find appealing.

Tonight, the University of Hawaii football team doesn’t have a game, so David and I are going to have dinner with our friends at a restaurant.  Have you ever experienced a meal cooked teppanyaki style?  I’ll post photos of this culinary adventure tomorrow.

After yesterday’s rant about an airline charging double for overweight passengers, you might wonder why we continue to focus so much on food.

Why, indeed.

As a vegan, my sister Sylvia avoids eating animals.  This means absolutely no flesh and no dairy products.  She also jogs every morning.  Not only does she have a slender figure, she also has excellent health.

Wish I had her self-discipline.  It’s a tough lifestyle to follow.

I can’t imagine shunning something like ice cream, for heaven’s sake.

14 Responses to “Tough lifestyle”

  1. Cathy Says:

    I hope your ice cream mention was done tongue in cheek style – sometimes you have to do what you have to do.
    I love ‘liver bacon and onions’ but a cholesterol problem rules the liver and bacon out of my diet – I could say I pop a pill each evening and eat it whenever I want but unfortunately I have to shun it.

  2. Olga Says:

    if we are what we eat, i would rather be ice cream than tofu.

  3. DJan Says:

    I love tofu, which makes it pretty easy to enjoy it. I also allow myself to have ice cream, a half cup of it, no more, a few times a year, since I love it too. But I always order it at a shop instead of having a pint of it at home, so it doesn’t tempt me! 🙂

  4. Jeanie Says:

    Your sister’s self-discipline is admirable. My diet is usually pretty good, (except when it is not) but right now I am trying to exercise more.

  5. Denise Says:

    I have a niece who for many years was a vegan but now she eats some fish. I still eat meat though have cut down considerably, red meat especially. I enjoy tofu and am eating vegetarian sushi. After all the traveling we’ve done Gregg and I have put on a lot of weight and need to get serious about losing several pounds.

  6. Christine Says:

    I love teppanyaki!

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I was slender when I was younger. Jogging will catch up with your sister when she needs joint replacements. Jogging is the worst thing you can do for your joints no matter how slender you are.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      My doctor told me to stop jogging, because it was too stressful for me. I was 36 when he said that. Whenever I jogged, I would experience severe chest pain.

  8. Grannymar Says:

    The secret to good eating is a good mixed diet. Eat smaller portions and always come away from the table feeling you could eat a little more. If you like a full plate – try using a smaller size!

  9. granny annie Says:

    My doctor recently told me two stories about people who lost weight. Both did so because they stopped EATING. His cure for weight loss was for me to stop EATING. He didn’t go into different foods or different diets he simply said added weight is due to EATING. So there. But I am still EATING:)

Leave a Reply

