Tanaka of Tokyo

David and I had a Teppanyaki dinner with friends at Tanaka of Tokyo in Ala Moana Center last night.  Teppanyaki is a Japanese term for food that has been grilled.

Tanaka of Tokyo 003-A

Here we are sitting around the grill:  Raymond, Flo, me, and David.

We chose the complete dinner, which consisted of many different courses.

Tanaka of Tokyo 005-A

This was our chef, grilling shrimp and vegetables.

Tanaka of Tokyo 007-A

A little fire, made just for my camera.

Tanaka of Tokyo 004-A

Salad with a spicy dressing.

Tanaka of Tokyo 006-A

Pickled vegetables and miso soup.

Tanaka of Tokyo 008-A

This will become fried rice with vegetables and eggs.

Tanaka of Tokyo 012-A

Fried rice.

Tanaka of Tokyo 011-A

Lobster tail.

Tanaka of Tokyo 014-A

Sirloin steak.

Tanaka of Tokyo 015-A

The steak, grilled medium rare.

Tanaka of Tokyo 013-A

The wonderful sauces:  mustard-soy on the left and ginger-soy on the right.

Tanaka of Tokyo 017-A

Dessert:  David and I chose coffee ice cream.

Tanaka of Tokyo 018-A

Dessert:  Flo and Raymond chose mango sherbet.

I guess what I enjoyed most was the lobster tail, which I hadn’t had in years.  Dip it in the mustard sauce, wow!

Great food with great friends.  Who could ask for anything more?

15 Responses to “Tanaka of Tokyo”

  1. Kay G. Says:

    Wow, that was almost like being at that dinner with you…oh wait, I didn’t get to eat any of it. NEVER MIND! HA!
    Great food with great friends, I am so with you on that…happy you had such a great time! xx

  2. Flo Says:

    First of all, thank you so much for inviting us to a wonderful dining experience! Raymond and I loved everything – the food, the chef’s cooking skills and repartee, and just enjoying the fun evening with good friends! Gosh your photos make me want to go back for more! How did you do all of that?

  3. Christine Says:

    That looks sooo delicious! And a wonderful evening with friends.

  4. DJan Says:

    Looks absolutely wonderful! I think I would have enjoyed that lobster tail, too. I haven’t had it in years, either. 🙂

  5. Grannymar Says:

    The food all looks yummy!

  6. granny annie Says:

    Lip smacking good!

  7. Joanne Says:

    It looks wonderful. My doggie bag would have been enormous, though.

  8. MaryAnne Long Says:

    Flo,

    The food looks delicious. Must have been a wonderful evening. Mahalo for sharing.

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Lovely and healthful meal. Glad you enjoyed it.

  10. palolo Says:

    I love to see pictures of the foods you and David enjoyed. Is a Shabu Shabu restaurant next?

  11. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    Wow! That’s what I call a good meal!

  12. Olga Says:

    The food looks beautiful and delicious. How fun to share with friends.

  13. Linda Reeder Says:

    good food, good fun watching it being prepared, good friends to share it with = a good evening!

Leave a Reply

