Sarah Chang

Sarah Chang 002-A

David and I attended a Hawaii Symphony Orchestra concert yesterday.  It featured Sarah Chang, the world renowned Korean-American concert violinist, who was once a child prodigy.  She played the Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1 brilliantly and beautifully.

Jahja Ling conducted the orchestra, which performed Bernstein’s “Overture to Candide” and Dvorak’s “Symphony No. 8.”  I am especially fond of the Dvorak and could hardly keep from humming along.

Sarah Chang 003-A

Prior to the concert, we watched little children play their violins in the lobby.  They belong to the Suzuki Violin School, which is directed by Sheryl Shohet.  We were very impressed, because they all played in tune and had memorized all of the musical pieces.

I wonder if my grandkids would be interested in studying the violin.  Rylan already has the ability to sing in tune, and I think it would be great if his parents nurtured his talent.  We’ll see.

9 Responses to “Sarah Chang”

  1. Olga Says:

    I was left out of things when musical talent was being handed out and I have always been sad about that. I believe all talents should be nurtured.

  2. Linda Starr Says:

    what a great time you had. I can almost hear the violin. it’s been years since I went to the ballet or a symphony, I used to go in San Francisco when I lived there and I enjoyed it immensely.

  3. denise Says:

    A wonderful experience and listening to the children must also have been lovely!

  4. Jeanie Says:

    It sounds like you had a wonderful time. My 11 year old granddaughter plays the violin, but I don’t think there are concerts in her future. She also sings and plays the piano and is much better at both of those than she is with the violin.

  5. Christine Says:

    thanks for sharing, I think it’s wonderful the appreciation of good music that you have.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    You and David would get along famously. He loves Dvorak.

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I would have enjoyed hearing the children playing. That kind of talent takes a great deal of dedication.

Leave a Reply

