Endorphins

Hawaii 037-A

Hawaii.

I used to date a long distance runner, who claimed that running produced endorphins in his brain, creating a “runner’s high.”

Well, having dinner with friends at Tanaka of Tokyo as well as attending a symphony concert this past weekend produced endorphins in my brain, too.  Wow, talk about feeling happy!  It just goes to show that one need not run to experience a runner’s high.  There are other ways.

You can choose to be happy or you can choose to be unhappy.  Which will it be?

Looking back on my 67 years, I note many miserable moments, which were caused by interpersonal stress.  Unless you have been a hermit all your life, it is inevitable that certain people will rub you the wrong way.

I have finally found peace.

There have been some tough times during my 33 years of marriage, but after marriage counseling, David and I leave each other alone.  He doesn’t supervise me, and I don’t supervise him.

For example, he doesn’t complain when I choose to wash the dinner dishes at midnight instead of right after dinner.

And I never fight over the TV remote, because I don’t like to watch television that much, anyway.  Television is David’s main source of entertainment, so he is glad I don’t interfere.  When he wears his headphones, he is in another zone.  A happy zone.

I prefer to read and write at the computer. If David needs the desktop computer, I switch to the laptop.  No problem!

I love my husband.  I love my house.  I love my life.

13 Responses to “Endorphins”

  1. DJan Says:

    We also use headphones when watching TV by ourselves, so that it doesn’t disturb the other person. I prefer listening with them, since the sound is inside my head rather than coming from across the room. We also had years of marriage counseling which was invaluable in finding ways to be together happily. You are very wise. 🙂

    • gigihawaii Says:

      In our case, we each had our own therapist so we could each receive unbiased counseling. We didn’t feel that the therapist was siding with one spouse against the other. This lasted about a year (1998-1999) and helped us tremendously.

  2. granny annie Says:

    Ron had the den and TV there for his history channel and Discovery shows. I had the living room and TV there for my mindless drivel in criminal and forensic shows. We would call each other on the cell phone if we needed something.

  3. Joanne Says:

    Trying to manage another person is like rolling water uphill, isn’t it.

  4. Christine Says:

    that’s a great point about not interfering with each other, and giving each other space….

  5. Olga Says:

    Like Grannie Annie, Mike and I had our own televisions. We both liked certain movies and the Antiques Road Show to watch together, but it was easier when I wanted to watch HGTV and he wanted the History Channel. Personal space is important, and respect for differences, too. I think you are wise…mostly for appreciating what you have and knowing yourself well.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      David likes to watch HGTV, sports, reality shows (Amazing Race, Survivor, Dancing with the Stars, The Voice) and Netflix movies. He never gets tired of it.

  6. Suzanne Says:

    That is sweet. You picked a great one.

  7. Kay G. Says:

    Hey, I think chocolate produces endorphins too.
    I choose to think it does anyway! xx

  8. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    A relevant bit of humor I saw in a “New Yorker” cartoon:
    A husband and wife are watching TV. She says to him, “I’ll give you the TV remote when you have a definite plan of action.”

  9. palolo Says:

    David has a happy wife, he will then have a happy life.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    Tom and I actually watch TV together! Apparently that is not common?

Leave a Reply

