A brilliant idea

Hawaii 038-A

Hawaii.

Ever since David resigned from his job as comptroller, he has stopped complaining.  It’s quite unbelievable when you think about it, as he worked there for almost 20 years.  In fact, he has never had a job that he thoroughly enjoyed.  There was always something wrong.

Yesterday, I had a brilliant idea.  “Why don’t you give private clarinet lessons, since you have a Bachelor’s degree in Music Education?”

“No, because I don’t play the clarinet anymore,” David replied.

“You could charge $20 per lesson and conduct the lessons in Lisa’s old bedroom.”

“No, I would prefer to be a tax preparer for H & R Block.”

So, there you go.  He refuses to consider doing what I consider a fun job.  With an MBA in accounting, he wants to remain in the numbers business.

That’s too bad.

Since he collects Social Security and is not yet 66, he is limited as to the amount of money he can earn.  Once he turns 66, he can earn as much as he wants.

I still think that teaching the clarinet would be ideal for him.

12 Responses to “A brilliant idea”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Hello gigi
    Think about what you wrote in your last post – He doesn’t supervise me, and I don’t supervise him.
    He obviously doesn’t think teaching clarinet wouldn’t be ideal for him even if you do 🙂
    Take care
    Cathy

  2. Cathy Says:

    Oh dear that should have been – he obviously doesn’t think teaching clarinet ‘would’ be ideal’

  3. granny annie Says:

    Unemployed men could work at many jobs but they tend to hold out for what they know best. Unemployed women most often will take any job to put food on the table. The depression that hits any person when their career is jerked out from under them is excruciating. I know from experience and even though you know you were just a number on a peg board being pulled off the map, it still damages your self esteem. You want to go back to the same work to prove it wasn’t because you were not capable of doing the job.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Obviously, he likes working with numbers, People who don’t like numbers (you?) don’t seem to understand the attraction. I’ve had a love-hate affair with statistics all my life. Much of the ‘hate’ aspect is psychological.

    Girls are supposed to hate math. I hyperventilated in stats classes until a kindly prof called me to his office and had me work out the problems on his chalkboard. “You know this stuff he said.” Good luck to David having fun at H&R Block. Dianne

  5. Olga Says:

    It makes me sad that he never had a job he thoroughly enjoyed. I think Grannie Annie has a good point about his maybe feeling that he has something to prove to himself, though. Good luck to you both.

  6. Christine Says:

    Brilliant Gigi, you have the best ideas! And it might be something David enjoys, priceless! It reminds me of how I worked in the computer field for 20 years and was never happier than when I left!

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Yes, I thought he would love the idea, since he enjoys music so much — to the point of majoring in it in college. In fact, he and I met during music rehearsal. Lol. Pleasant memories!

  7. DJan Says:

    He knows numbers best. I hope he gets that job with H&$ Block, since I can’t help but think how happy his customers would be! 🙂

  8. Jeanie Says:

    It sounds like he has his mind made up about what he wants to try to do……I doubt if you will change it. I’m sure there is a lot behind him feeling as strong as he does about it.

  9. Denise Says:

    I wish David the best for that job. I hope he finds a job he is happy with.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    He seems happy not working. Maybe he can do tax season work, just part time.

  11. Beatrice Says:

    The music business sounds definitely more intresting then numbers….but everyone thinks different 😉
    Beatrice

Leave a Reply

