Graceful way to exercise

Hawaii 001-A

Hawaii.

I have enjoyed my hula class so much that I have gone ahead and paid for the next six week session, which will end on January 8, 2014.

I have already mastered three hulas:  Lili-u, Kawika, and Heeia.  I am still working on Kealoha, Ulupalakua and My Yellow Ginger Lei, which are more complex.  Our teacher said she wants us to eventually dance Kealoha as a soloist.  It helps that I have these dances captured on video and can practice at home.

Dancing the hula is lots of fun and does pump up my heart.  However, I have not seen any weight loss.  We meet only once a week for an hour, so I should try to practice what I have learned at home on a daily basis. Hopefully, that will speed up my metabolism.

I am grateful that I am allowed to wear my muumuus (long Hawaiian dresses) during hula class.  One of the reasons why I was loath to sign up for aerobics or the gym was the requirement that I wear shorts or pants.  As you know, gigi-hawaii always wears muumuus night and day.  Lol.

12 Responses to “Graceful way to exercise”

  1. DJan Says:

    Congratulations on mastering three hula dances, Gigi. Do you dance enough to break out into a light sweat? That is the requirement for the exercise to be enough to help raise your metabolism, leading to weight loss.

  2. Olga Says:

    I think that the best exercise is one that you will do on a regular basis. It sounds as though you have found your exercise. Enjoy–like they say–dance as if no one is watching.

  3. Christine Says:

    losing weight requires eating less I have found, unfortunately and to my disappointment. I hate being hungry.

  4. Jeanie Says:

    It sounds like you have found the perfect exercise for you and even if you are not losing weight I am sure it is doing you some good.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Muu-muus are nice, but I wear long pants night and day, summer,winter, fall and spring.To each her own I suppose.

  6. granny annie Says:

    Is dancing the hula considered an aerobic exercise? I envy the fun you must have with your group.

  7. Denise Says:

    Learning the hula sounds like a wonderful way to exercise and congrats to mastering three of them.

  8. Cathy Says:

    Hula is beautiful to watch – all that soft swaying to the music.
    Maybe you could add some walking to your daily routine – you could wear your usual clothes for that gigi – go at a good pace, just enough to know you are making the effort.
    Cathy

Leave a Reply

