Where is my Aloha?

Halloween 2012 003-A

Halloween last year (2012):  My grandkids and their parents.  Aren’t they cute?

We won’t be celebrating Halloween because of home invaders, who have been attacking homes on Oahu.  It is amazing that sometimes these criminals have the gall to pose as police men.  When the homeowner opens the door, these men barge in, tie up the owner, and then steal whatever they please.

So, it’s better to be safe than sorry.  We never open the door to strangers.  You never know who might be lurking behind those kids who yell, “Trick or treat.”

The world has become extremely dangerous, hasn’t it?  I don’t remember hearing about home invasions when I was a kid.  Our front door was always open and the screen door was never locked.  Anybody could have just walked in.

One thing has never changed, though.  Missionaries proselytizing their religion keep knocking on my door.  They never seem to give up trying to convert me.  My mother used to just walk away and leave them standing there on her porch.  I find that it is best to not even open the door in the first place.

Where’s my Aloha, you ask?  Yes, Aloha means Love, but it sure does not mean Stupid.

13 Responses to “Where is my Aloha?”

  1. Cathy Says:

    what a shame you won’t be entering into the spirit of one of your countries’s customs but as you say you can never be too careful gigi – like you years ago our home security was a bit looser than it is now – we just didn’t seem to need it.

    Unfortunately many elderly people these days are robbed/attacked by people claiming to be utility workers – the gas or electric man seems to be a favourite disguise.

    We used to have missonaries door knocking in our suburb ( they have a temple in a nearby suburb) but haven’t seen the young men for quite a while.

    Quick question – are you cutting down your blog posting to every other day or is it just the way this past week turned out?
    Take care
    Cathy

    .

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I haven’t decided whether or not to post every other day on a permanent basis. I seem to have run out of topics for some reason. After all, this blog started on Nov 20, 2006. That’s a lot of blogging. Lol. Let’s see what happens in the near future.

      • Cathy Says:

        You’ve done well to carry on for that long – I realise you talk about your daily life but maybe you could revisit some of the posts and see if your ‘thoughts/feelings/attitude’ have changed at all.
        I have blogged everyday for a challenge on two occasions but found it too demanding to carry on permanently
        Cathy

  2. granny annie Says:

    My husband took care of the religious callers by greeting them in his birthday suit:) They left in a hurry.

  3. Olga Says:

    I would not buy a vacuum cleaner from a door-to-door salesman so I am sure not going to buy a religion that way.
    Grannie Annie, that is so funny!
    I also now keep my doors locked at all times. It is a sad fact of life.

  4. Christine Says:

    Cute Halloween photos, the kids are sure growing up fast. It is scary about crime everywhere. I think it is our society which is so geared toward money snd having things.

  5. DJan Says:

    I get few trick-or-treaters at my place, but I’m hoping for a few this year. I’ll turn on my light and see what happens. 🙂

  6. Joanne Says:

    When my children were young it was razor blades in apples. The world doesn’t change much. Neither do the proselytizers.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Reminds me of the old song with the words, “Whose that knocking at my door.?” Around here you leave your porch light off if you don’t want visitors. Dianne

  8. Denise Says:

    A lovely photo of your sweet family Gigi. We’ll be opening the door to trick o’ treaters tomorrow but we don’t expect too many. The kids around here are all growing up. When I am on my own I never open the door, a sad statement from the way it used to be but living in a heavy traffic area I have had enough of people trying to sell me new windows, new landscaping, new this, new that, let alone all the political stuff. They have a living to make and a job to do, but there are so many giving the hard sell it gives me a major headache. And safety comes first. Gregg will open the door but I am not as trusting 🙂

  9. jerrie Says:

    oh that is terrible I have quite a few in my neighborhood I live alone do not mind opening door – for some reason thought Hawaii would not be that way sorry – love in va grandkids are adorable

  10. Suzanne Says:

    I am funny about opening the door too. If I don’t recognize someone out the window I get very quiet until they leave.

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    Well, that’s just sad. We get very few trick or treaters, but nearby in the neighborhood there were hundreds of kids going door to door, including me and my grand kids. In lots of places people are still having fun on Halloween.

Leave a Reply

