Happy Boston

Hawaii 003-A

Hawaii.

Congratulations to the Boston Red Sox, who won the World Series.  I am a fan of theirs, because my in-laws live in Boston.  Needless to say, Shane Victorino, who is from Hawaii, is a fantastic hitter.  David and I are very proud of him, as it was Victorino, who led the BoSox to victory.

We visited Boston for three days in 1987 on the first leg of our East coast tour.  We saw Harvard, MIT, Plymouth Rock, an early Pilgrims settlement, and the Freedom Trail.  Though Boston is an attractive destination, I doubt we will be back, as there are too many other places we want to see.  Meanwhile, it’s always nice to dine with our in-laws when they vacation in Hawaii every year.

Boston 1987 001-A

This is a photo of us in Boston in 1987:  Mike (holding Amanda), Shirley, and me.  David was the photographer.  How time flies!  I am not that skinny anymore.  Lol.

Have you been to Boston?

10 Responses to “Happy Boston”

  1. Olga Says:

    I have been to Boston a number of times over the years. I know what you mean about travel. There are places I would love to visit again but then I think about the places I would love to visit that i have not yet seen.

  2. Christine Says:

    I’ve never been to Boston, always wanted to, and it’s really not too far from toronto. Definitely on my bucket list, heard they have great seafood.

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Been to Boston many times on business trips, and with two different husbands on swings through New England for fun, leisure, and genealogical work.

    My Dad’s Mom’s family hails from that part of the world many years ago (Massachusetts Colony – 1650). Beautiful city. I have loved the Red Sox since I was a young girl and big fan of Thumping Ted. Dianne

    PS, I recognized you so you are not that changed.

  4. DJan Says:

    I have been to Boston, too. I am glad that they won, and glad that they were able to give those who suffered in the marathon bombing something to smile about. 🙂

  5. Kay G. Says:

    I’ve never been to Boston but I have friend from there!
    And also, David Ross, the Red Sox catcher was with the Braves up until 2012, so I was happy to see him on the winning team!

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    I didn’t watch any baseball. Seattle is all about Football and soccer right now.
    I have been to Boston twice and saw all the sights.

  7. denise Says:

    Lovely photos Gigi! When I was first married Gregg took me up to Boston to meet his step-grandfather. A wonderful man who took us to see the Red Sox play a double header as it turned out. He was a big fan of Yaz and it was a memorable time.

  8. Tom Sightings Says:

    Thanks for commenting on my blog, and as I said over there (and I hope you’re not insulted, esp. if you’re a big football fan,), but honestly, I don’t associate Hawaii with … football! Wouldn’t you be better off in Ga., Fla. or Calif. But I bet Shane Victorino is by far your favorite son these days!

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Hi Tom. UH football is a big thing here in Hawaii. Both college and high school football games are shown on local television. College football pays the bills in the athletic dept.

Leave a Reply

