Surprise, surprise!

I have been feeling sick lately.  Last night, I managed to make dinner for us – two teriyaki salmon filets, brown rice, and mixed vegetables.  It was fine.

After dinner, I loaded the dishwasher, turned it on, and left the remaining pots and dishware in the sink.

“I’ll hand wash these later,” I told David.  “I need to rest first.”

I went to bed at 8:00 pm.

When I woke up at 3:15 am the next morning, intending to wash the remaining pots and dishware, lo and behold, this is what greeted me:

Dishes 001-A

My husband had cleared the sink and counter and washed everything.

Lover!

Who said men are useless in the kitchen?

18 Responses to “Surprise, surprise!”

  1. anyone4curryandotherthings Says:

    Nice David – Gigi will give you your ‘gold star’ 🙂

  2. Kay G. Says:

    You know those husbands who buy expensive presents for their wives and never do a lick of housework? You can KEEP them, I want a man who helps me in the house!!
    Have a great weekend!

  3. Kay G. Says:

    And my computer went down and I couldn’t leave a comment from one of your lasts posts where you showed us your sister’s restaurant…wow, wow and wow, that food looks like ART, so beautiful! If I ever get to Honolulu, I will get myself there for sure!

  4. DJan Says:

    Nice! A pat on the back to David, and a wish that you will be feeling better soon. 🙂

  5. Olga Says:

    That was so thoughtful of David. He may be a keeper.

  6. granny annie Says:

    That was very sweet of David. However it is a shame that men get so much applause for work women do all the time with no accolades. Wouldn’t it have been even greater if he had fixed you dinner too and served it to you in bed? Just sayin’…….

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    That was a nice surprise for you, and maybe a trend for David. Now that he is retired he certainly should be helping in the house, kitchen included, especially when you don’t feel well.
    At my house, I cook and Tom cleans up, but even in that we lend each other a hand. Partners in all things.

  8. Joanne Says:

    Very nice surprise, indeed.

  9. jerrie Says:

    my ex-husband always did stuff like that – imagine

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Very sweet. They can be so wonderful at times. Why not post a photo of your anthurium? Hope you feel better. Dianne

  11. Christine Says:

    what a wonderful surprise! I hope you are feeling better though.

  12. Tom Sightings Says:

    As a man let me just say: nice that you appreciate it! Our house is like Linda Reeder’s house.

  13. Suzanne Says:

    That is a great surprise.

  14. Cathy Says:

    Here’s hoping you are back to normal now and whatever it was has passed. Did David help you out during the day as well?

  15. Grannymar Says:

    I hope you are feeling better.

  16. Denise Says:

    A thoughtful and loving husband you have there Gigi, and I am glad to read you are feeling better.

Leave a Reply

