Flowers and turkeys

Here are two views of my anthurium plant that I purchased from Home Depot in March.  Four blooms are in the process of slowly dying, but two new blooms have appeared amid new leaves.  I water the plant thoroughly in the kitchen sink on Sunday and Wednesday and have never fertilized it.  Healthy, thriving anthuriums!

Anthuriums 001-A

Anthuriums 001-A

Don’t you just love that blue planter the anthuriums are sitting in?  I love that shade of blue, which happens to be my favorite color.

Over the past two weeks, I have accumulated food items for my Thanksgiving party.  The only thing left on my list is the turkey, which I intend to buy and thaw a week prior to the party.  I hope to find an 18 lb Butterball turkey, but if it’s sold out, I’ll have to settle for a Norbest.  Those timers on a Norbest are tricky, because they often pop up when the thighs are not thoroughly cooked.  It’s always best to stick your own thermometer into the thigh.

As usual, I intend to roast the turkey in an oven bag.  Which method do you prefer?

14 Responses to “Flowers and turkeys”

  1. denise Says:

    Your anthurium is beautiful in that pretty blue pot. We will be spending Thanksgiving away from home again.

  2. anyone4curryandotherthings Says:

    Very healthy looking plants indeed, and your blue pot sets them off perfectly. Carina

  3. granny annie Says:

    I believe it is always best to use your own meat thermometer as well and I have to use the cooking bag. Love your flower and vase but what I really want to steal is your rug:)

  4. Christine Says:

    I’ve heard the butterball turkeys are the best, I’ve never roasted a turkey, mostly chicken.

  5. DJan Says:

    We will be eating salmon instead of turkey, but that’s because we prefer it. If I were visiting my family in Texas, we’d be having turkey together. I hope you’re feeling better, Gigi.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I do like the contrasting colors in your living room. As for turkeys, I haven’t cooked one in 20 years. We will be eating out as neither of us is healthy enough to drive to my daughter’s house (perhaps at Christmas?)

  7. Olga Says:

    Beautiful plant in a beautiful pot. Cobalt blue is the trendy color of the season, but I love it all the time. Hope you are feeling better…and that David is still helping out with the dishes.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Yes, I went to bed at 7:00 pm last night, and when I woke up at 3:15 am this morning, the dishes were washed. Again! David is so sweet. But, usually, I do them, because he vacuums the house and waters the outdoor plants and washes my car, too. Plus, he does all of the shopping.

  8. Jeanie Says:

    Fortunately I don’t have to cook a turkey this year. I have had pretty big crowds for Thanksgiving the last few years but this year we are going to my daughter’s house.
    Glad you are feeling better.

  9. Joanne Says:

    God bless all you cooks who keep the rest of us fed.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    We usually do our turkey on a charcoal grill with wood smoke chips. While it’s tricky to get it just right, the smokey flavor is wonderful.

  11. Suzanne Says:

    The plant looks great. People always invited me to Thanksgiving so I have never cooked a turkey.

Leave a Reply

