Life is more relaxed, now

Hawaii 005-A

Hawaii.

Well, as you may have noticed, I have been posting every other day instead of daily.  I can’t believe that I had been writing daily since the inception of this blog on November 20, 2006.  On October 24, 2013, I decided to slow down and write every other day.  No longer am I stressed over self-imposed deadlines and the search for possible topics.  Life is more relaxed, now.

You may have also noticed that my Blogroll has been reduced considerably.  The blogs listed here are blogs I click on daily.  You will find no deadwood.  If a blog ceases to post regularly or if it ceases to interest me, I delete it.  No offense, but that’s reality.

Meanwhile, I enjoy writing short essays and posting photos.  It’s still fun.  I am not familiar with Facebook or Instagram, but blogging satisfies me for now.  Who knows what the future holds?

I have a busy weekend ahead.  Hope to see you here on Sunday.

11 Responses to “Life is more relaxed, now”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Gigi there comes a time when we become ‘ sensible’ and realise that no matter how much we try we can’t please everybody – we are the ones who call the shots and we decide what happens and when it is going to happen. It’s hard keeping up with the expectations of other bloggers and I accept your decision.
    Sorting your blog out is one way of sorting your life out. There is nothing more terrifying than sitting in front of a blank ‘piece of virtual paper’ and not knowing what to say.
    Enjoy your spare time – you’ll feel better for it. And by having a gap between posts it means you could pre write and then schedule for the chosen days – that way having even more time off lol
    Take care
    Cathy

  2. granny annie Says:

    Glad to see you kept me:) I don’t really have a schedule on my blog except for Monday. I try to always have a question of the week. Our blogs should be enjoyable and when they don’t feel that way, they should go on the back burner until they can be fulfilling again.

  3. Olga Says:

    I read blogs every day, but I don’t have a posting schedule. I am glad I survived the cut! Now, I have never been to Hawaii, but I think of it as a very laid-back, relaxing kind of place, associating it as I do with vacation. I suppose real life is real life with all its stresses no matter where you happen to live. No need for self-imposed pressure added to that.

  4. DJan Says:

    We are now writing about the same number of posts a week. I do three on DJan-ity and one on Eye on the Edge. It’s enough. And sometimes it’s too much! 🙂

  5. Jeanie Says:

    I have been having a hard time blogging lately but I definitely want to keep it up. Part of the fun of blogging is that everyone does it differently and only you know what is right for you. It sounds like you are happy with the way you are doing it now.

  6. Christine Says:

    I hope you’ll keep blogging for a long time!

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Although my blog roll needs pruning, I manage to get to almost everyone at least every other day. Yes I look for those who post on a regular basis. Dianne

  8. Denise Says:

    I like Dianne’s terminology, ‘pruning’. I need to do that with mine. There are several blogs on my roll that no longer visit me and I respect that. They like to visit blogs of like mind and I take no offense. We tend to stick with the ones we feel comfortable with and enjoy. It is impossible to like everything out there and we also sometimes get lost in the shuffle as there are so many that forget to visit. and in turn we forget to visit them. Nothing intentional, it’s just the way it is.

    As I share so much of my photography it is easier for me to post on a regular basis, but there are times when I can’t put two thoughts together and choose what I am going to add. If I get a little energy I will post ahead with several, like I do when I am going away for a while.

    Posting every other day seems like a good idea. I always love your photos by the way 🙂

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    I am actually relieved when some of my blog friends slow down! I feel responsible for being a good blogger friend, and I am having trouble finding the time to read and comment.
    I don’t have a regular pattern for posting on my blog. It just depends on when I feel I have something to share. I do try to post at least every three days or so.

  10. Grannymar Says:

    I think we all suffer dry spells with blogging. I almost gave up completely a few weeks ago. Since then I have taken a day or two off. Maybe after new year, I will reorganise the way I go about it. I also need to cull my list, it is almost impossible to keep up with reading and commenting.

  11. Tom Sightings Says:

    Dunno how you ever did a post every day. Best I can do is three times a week … but then I’ve always been an underachiever!

Leave a Reply

