Julia’s 6th birthday

We celebrated my granddaughter Julia’s sixth birthday at Ice Palace yesterday.

Julia's 6th birthday 001-A

My grandkids:  Rylan (3) and Julia (6).

Julia's 6th birthday 004-A

With their parents, Maria and Grant.

Julia's 6th birthday 003-A

David and I.

Julia's 6th birthday 005-A

Grant’s mother.

Julia's 6th birthday 006-A

Grant’s sister and her three sons.

Julia's 6th birthday 009-A

Julia eats her lunch.

Julia's 6th birthday 016-A

Julia poses with friends and relatives behind cupcakes that her mother baked.

Julia's 6th birthday 019-A

Julia blows out the candles with ease.

Julia's 6th birthday 012-A

This is a view of the Ice Palace skating rink.

Julia's 6th birthday 031-A

Maria and Rylan, wearing ice skates.  This was Rylan’s second attempt at ice skating.

Here are shots of Rylan and Maria on the rink:

Julia's 6th birthday 043-A

Julia's 6th birthday 060-A

And these are shots of Julia skating with ease (she fell down several times but picked herself up and continued skating):

Julia's 6th birthday 057-A

Julia's 6th birthday 059-A

It was loads of fun being with our family again!  Next time, Rylan might be able to skate without help from his mother.  And, no, due to our fear of falling down and breaking a bone or bones, David and I did not skate.

But, this party reminded me of us skating with our own kids, Maria and Lisa, when they were little at this very same rink.  Click on this link to see photos of Lisa’s 7th birthday party in 1989:

https://gigihawaii.wordpress.com/2009/05/05/ice-palace/

I wonder if Maria (Julia’s and Rylan’s mother) remembers being at the Ice Palace in 1989.  She would have been 10 years old at the time.

14 Responses to “Julia’s 6th birthday”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Looks like everyone had a fun time – see lots of other parties going on at the same time. Lots of happy smiles!
    Your comment about the possibility of falling reminded me of a similar party at a roller rink – come on Grandma come out here with us. Guess whose balance had deteriorated and had to cling onto the side rail whilst we made our way round. I still get reminded about it to this day lol
    Take care
    Cathy

  2. denise Says:

    Wonderful photos and Happy Birthday Julia! Looks like a fun time was had by all. I used to roller skate when I was young but could never stay up on ice skates. It was the same when I tried skiing.

  3. Joanne Says:

    A nice party. I, too, would cheer from the sidellines.

  4. Olga Says:

    What a fun birthday party idea. I am sure that Maria would remember the 1989 party. That’s the stuff of memories.

  5. DJan Says:

    I went and looked at the link, which was interesting to see after so many years. They look very much alike, mother and daughter. 🙂

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Wow, ice-skating in Hawaii, who knew? Ryan seems to have enjoyed his sister’s birthday almost as much as she did. You and David look serene. Dianne

  7. Grannymar Says:

    That looked like a fun day. I have never tried ice skating, I don’t think there was a rink when I was growing up in Dublin.

  8. Christine Says:

    what fun memories Gigi and the party looks like it was fabulous, so much fun, happy birthday to Julia!

  9. granny annie Says:

    What fun! I am happy you and David did not attempt to skate. A friend of mine did and fell and broke her femur. Yikes! Took months to heal.

  10. Suzanne Says:

    What an excellent day. Rylan looks so big these days. Julia is so cute.

  11. Jeanie Says:

    What a fun party. I’m glad you got to share it with them even though you wisely avoided the ice skates.

  12. LC Says:

    A birthday at the Ice Palace is a great family tradition that crosses generations. I loved seeing all the photos of you, David, grands, and family. I enjoyed the link to birthday past, too. And thanks for your comment on my post. Blogging friends are a great encouragement on life’s journey.

  13. Beatrice Says:

    This is a real good idea for a birthday party!
    Skating in Hawaii, wow!
    We wait for the first real ice and snow here and had
    some frosty nights already…
    I still suffer with pain in my left hip and knee; moving and
    getting around is pure horror. The meds I get make me a bit sleepy.
    Still it does nor help much, what upsets me… :/
    ~.✻.~
    Beatrice

  14. Tim Lara Says:

    Very nice. Cute pictures!

Leave a Reply

