What’s your mommy’s name?

This week, I babysat my three year old grandson Rylan, because he had a cough and low grade fever and could not attend preschool.

Here he is, playing with his daddy’s iPad:

Rylan Ipad 002-A

Rylan iPad 003-A

After an hour, he put away the iPad and we chatted.  I asked him questions and was surprised by his responses:

Me:  “Rylan, what’s your mommy’s name?”

Rylan:  “Aunty Maria.”

Me:  “What’s your daddy’s name?”

Rylan:  “Uncle Grant.”

I chuckled, realizing that he had been hearing his cousins call his parents “aunty” and “uncle.”  Of course, I corrected him, but I don’t know if he understood what I was trying to teach him.

I also asked him what his phone number was and what city he lived in.  He did not know.  Hmmm.  What happens if he gets lost at the shopping center and the cops can’t extract that information from him?  Well, I think that if Rylan can tell them his parents’ first and last names, the cops can find pertinent information in their database — unless there is more than one person by that name, in which case Rylan should be taught his parents’ middle initials as well.

Then, I got him to spell words on flash cards.  He was confused with b and d, and with p and q.

Kids!  Lots of teachable moments!

P.S.  My grandson tried to teach me how to use the iPad, but I still haven’t figured it out.

12 Responses to “What’s your mommy’s name?”

  1. granny annie Says:

    Have no fear. If Rylan gets lost he can ask for an iPad and show where he lives on the satellite locator:)

  2. Olga Says:

    Granny Annie–so funny! My grand son tried to teach me to play a game on the iPad. He got a little frustrated with my ineptitude and told me I needed to focus.

  3. Christine Says:

    You are smart Gigi, important things for him to know. I understand about the ipad.

  4. Joanne Says:

    My sister says she was in school before she realized Mom’s name wasn’t “Mom.”

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    My daughter purposely called me ‘Mom’ when she was shopping with me. She liked to see all the other “Moms” in the store turn around and say “What?” I still answer to Mom.

    Rylan can teach me how to use an iPad. It looks great for games.

  6. Jeanie Says:

    I like granny annie’s answer and there is probably too much truth to it. I had little kids here yesterday also, but I don’t think I taught them anything. 🙂

  7. Denise Says:

    My mother always used to say that the young can learn a lot from adults, but that adults could also learn a lot from children.

  8. Beatrice Says:

    Ha, 😀 kids can do the IPad first of all…….

  9. mageb Says:

    Yes, I would think phone number first. 🙂

  10. Grannymar Says:

    Teach them the phone number in an easy way for them to remember – groups of two digits will stay with them all their lives.

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    There you go. Kids will learn what they want to learn and see a need for learning. With so many choices available to kids today, it’s a real challenge for educators.

Leave a Reply

