Just being honest

On Friday, my six year old granddaughter Julia had a fever and cough, so she came to my home to recuperate.  Here she is, watching her daddy’s iPad:

Julia and iPad 002-A

You may recall that I watched three year old Rylan for the same reason this week.  He returned to preschool on Friday.  Well, he made me laugh when we had one of our famous chats on Thursday:

Me:  “Rylan, who is the prettiest girl in your class?”

Rylan:  “Mia.”

Me:  “Who is the cutest boy in your class?”

Rylan:  “Me.”

Me:  “Who is the smartest boy?”

Rylan:  “Me.”

Wow, I thought.  My grandson has high self-esteem.

On Friday, I asked Julia the same questions:

Me:  “Julia, who is the cutest boy in your class?”

Julia:  “Kingston.”

Me:  “Who is the prettiest girl in your class?”

Julia:  “Nobody.”

Me:  “Aren’t you the prettiest?”

Julia:  “No.”

Me:  “Well, who is the smartest girl?  You?”

Julia:  “No, I’m not the smartest.  Kuuolani is the smartest girl.”

Wow, I thought.  My granddaughter is so modest.

When you were three and six years old, did you have high self-esteem like Rylan or were you were modest like Julia?

11 Responses to “Just being honest”

  1. granny annie Says:

    Boys get their self esteem from their mothers and girls from their fathers. Julia’s dad isn’t doing his job:) Why do you call Julia “modest” instead of saying she has low self esteem?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Oh, I think Julia has very high standards. Lol.

    • granny annie Says:

      If I could delete a comment on WordPress I would have deleted this one. Pretty tacky of me and obviously I was coming from another place and time. Your grandchildren are beautiful and wonderful and wise and charming and you are truly blessed by them. Julia gave an appropriate answer to your inquiry.

  2. Olga Says:

    I think it is very cool that she would reply “Nobody” to who is the prettiest. That is not low self-esteem, not modesty. That is awareness that looks are subjective and really not the basis for judging another’s worth or character. Good for Julia.

  3. DJan Says:

    Julia is wise beyond her short number of years, Gigi. I enjoyed hearing their different responses. 🙂

  4. Christine Says:

    interesting conversations Gigi, don’t know what to make of Julia’s responses, likely she is older and giving a more realistic response. Smart kids like grandma. And I hope you don’t catch their bugs!

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I think you can have high self esteem and be modest…whatever that means. To deny ones attributes via self-effacement is negative. I like Ryan’s attitude, although I think he may have made up the answers on the spot as grandma was asking the questions, and he aims to please. Julia is older and may have noticed a thing or two. She is awfully pretty, and you can tell her I said so. Dianne

  6. Denise Says:

    It would be nice to think I was both but you know? I don’t have a clue as to what I was like at this age. Two very delightful conversations and what fun to have grandchildren! You are very blessed.

  7. LC Says:

    Your grands are joys to be around, even via a grandma’s blog post. I can’t remember myself at 3. I can say that 66 is easier than 6 was!

  8. Tom Sightings Says:

    Perhaps Julia is just more mature. I had high self esteem when I was three, even when I was six. But now at 60 I’m much more modest.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    Three year olds are naturally self centered. Six year olds are self aware, and more aware of others too.

Leave a Reply

