“What do you want to be when you grow up?”

These are pictures drawn by my first grade six year old granddaughter, Julia, at my home.  The captions were also written by her.

Julia picture 002-A

Julias picture 001-A

We had a great conversation on Friday, when she spent the day with me:

Me:  “Julia, what do you want to be when you grow up?”

Julia:  “I want to be three things.”

Me:  “What are they?”

Julia:  “A homemaker, a babysitter, and a dentist.”

Me:  “Really?  Wow.  What does a homemaker do?”

Julia:  “She cleans the house and cooks dinner in the afternoon before everyone comes home.”

Me:  “What does a babysitter do?”

Julia:  “A babysitter takes care of babies.”

Me:  “Why do you want to be a dentist?”

Julia:  “I want to take pictures of people’s teeth.”

***

On Thursday, I asked three year old Rylan:  “What do you want to be when you grow up?  A fireman?”

Rylan:  “No, I want to be a doctor.”

***

I hope I live long enough to see how my grandkids turn out.

10 Responses to ““What do you want to be when you grow up?””

  1. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    We have high expectations for our children and then our grandchildren. Sometimes they fulfill them and sometimes they dye their hair pink and green. Dianne

  2. granny annie Says:

    They will enjoy these conversations you have saved. I have a “grandchildren book” and kept lots of little memories about mine. It is their favorite.

  3. Christine Says:

    Lovely kids and you are so good with them!

  4. denise Says:

    I love the conversations you have with your grandchildren.

  5. DJan Says:

    I loved seeing her creative spelling. She obviously sounded out the words, and I knew exactly what she was saying. Both of them are really cute kids, Gigi. But you already know that. 🙂

  6. Jeanie Says:

    What fun to hear what they have on their minds and how they see things. Julia’s pictures are great.

  7. Suzanne Says:

    Wow! They are very ambitious. I like their ideas.

  8. Hank Chapin Says:

    Somehow this reminded me of an essay my brother, now age 75, wrote in elementary school. “Milk. There are two kinds of milk. Milk from a cow and chocolate milk.” My mother kept that piece of writing for her whole life.

  9. Olga Says:

    I am sure that they both will have many opportunities to realize their dreams.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    What a fun post! I love the poster and the phonetic spelling. I wonder what my grand kids will turn out to be too. It would be nice to live to find out.

Leave a Reply

