Health issues

Hawaii 006-A

Hawaii.

I have emailed and snail mailed my 2013 Christmas newsletter to friends and family.  Now, I await their responses.  It was fun to scroll through my photos, choose five salient ones, and then write captions.

Today, David has an appointment to X-ray his right hip and then he will be seen by his orthopedist.  Will the doctor authorize surgery or will he tell David his hip is not that bad? All I know is that David was always the last person to get on the tour bus in India last year, because he kept stopping in his tracks to rest his hip.  This is the major reason why we canceled our 2014 trip to France.  I hope there is a cure for what ails him.

As for me, I haven’t been well, either.  I was prescribed new medication that disrupted my sleep, such that I slept in two hour increments.  I felt so ragged during the day.  Now that I am taking my previous meds, I have been able to sleep for six hours per night.

I hope life gets better for both of us.  It can’t get any worse, can it?

12 Responses to “Health issues”

  1. granny annie Says:

    I hear nothing but good things about hip replacement surgery and knee replacements too. My dad had the hip replacement and I truly believe it extended his life. He was so happy to move freely again. Surgery is never fun to anticipate but if David has to have it, look at it as a good thing.

  2. DJan Says:

    Another of my blogging friends had hip replacement surgery and is completely satisfied with the results. I can only hope the same will be true for David. And I do hope your own health returns to normal soon, Gigi.

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Yes, our health will get worse. Health deteriorates until we die. The best we can do is fight back as best we can.

    My doc let me make the decision as to when to have hip replacement surgery. I doubt David’s doctor will make the call. When he accepts it will never get better, David will say yes to surgery.

    At present, I am in a holding pattern with my knee.

  4. Joanne Says:

    Sorting out the meds can be as complicated as needing to take them. Good wishes to Daivid; I had the other hip replaced, more than ten years ago.

  5. Christine Says:

    Gigi, I’m beginning to think diet plays an important part in health. Read Lynn Cohen’s blog, so inspiring
    .http://lynn-nonameblog.blogspot.ca/2013/11/health-changes-continue-before-and.html

  6. Jeanie Says:

    I guess health issues are inevitable as we get older, but we are lucky to have so many ways to manage them these days.
    I hope you get your meds sorted out and that you feel better soon.

  7. Denise Says:

    I’m sorry you are both having health issues. Do hope something can be done about both your meds and David’s hip.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    Be careful about that last line, Gigi. Yes, it can!
    But hopefully it will get better and better.

  9. Linda Starr Says:

    One of our neighbor’s in Florida had his hip replaced with one of those not so invasive procedures and within a month he was back to new. I hope David will have a similar outcome. He was by the way in his 80s and is back to chopping down trees and climbing on his roof to clean the leaves out of the gutters.

    Medications can really affect one’s sleep, I only sleep 6 hours a night and that is just about right for me, although the past few days I have slept longer than that. So glad you got back to your regular routine.

  10. LC Says:

    Sorry you are having health issues. Dianne of Schmidleysscriblings said it well. We do as much as we can to stay as healthy as possible. I have been blessed with good health before and since my stroke. I hope I can hold onto good health through nutrition and exercise. This comes with prayer for you and David.

  11. palolo Says:

    Start walking and lose weight. It will make a big difference in your life and promote good health. Take it easy and slow.

  12. Linda Reeder Says:

    Yes, Glenda, I did receive your newsletter! Thank you for including me. I always like seeing what others do for their holiday letter. I’m still contemplating mine.

Leave a Reply

