Bela Fleck plays the banjo

Bela Fleck banjo, Michael Stern 003-A

Bela Fleck (banjo) and Michael Stern (conductor).

David and I attended a concert at the Blaisdell yesterday.  It featured Bela Fleck on the banjo.  Michael Stern conducted the Hawaii Symphony Orchestra.

It was the first time we had ever heard a banjo in a symphonic setting, and Fleck’s “The Impostor” concerto did not disappoint us.  We really enjoyed it, because it was something new and interesting.  His encore piece reminded David of  the TV show, “The Beverly Hillbillies,” and it made the audience laugh.

The rest of the program was also delightful.  We heard Stephen Hartke’s “Pacific Rim” and Copland’s “Symphony No. 3.”  Both are modern works, pleasing to the ear.

This was the last concert I attended this year, as I don’t feel like staying up for Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony, which will be held at 8 pm on December 23.  I prefer Sunday matinees at 4 pm.  However, David might attend it alone.  He adores this symphony, which never fails to move him to tears.

I guess you can tell that we are emotional people.  Does music move you to tears, too?

8 Responses to “Bela Fleck plays the banjo”

  1. Olga Says:

    My musical ability would fit in a toothpaste cap that got flushed down the toilet. However, there are times when music does have the ability to bring me to tears or touch me right to the core. I admire/envy those who know and understand music, and especially those who can make it that powerful.

  2. granny annie Says:

    Favorite music always moves me to tears.

  3. Christine Says:

    Sounds wonderful, and a nice evening out.

  4. DJan Says:

    Yes, it does. Some music makes me feel happy, others make me feel sad. But yes, I’m moved by it, too. 🙂

  5. Jeanie Says:

    Yes, listening to certain music can be very emotional experience.

  6. Denise Says:

    I find music evocative and it will often bring me to tears.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Christmas music always affects me. Dianne

  8. mageb Says:

    You got it.

Leave a Reply

