A quick retort

scenic hawaii 004-A

Hawaii.

Uncle W was bragging to his twin brother, Uncle H, about how much money he had and how rich he was, implying he was better off than his twin brother.

After listening for five minutes, Uncle H got so fed up that he retorted, “Can you say you are a grandfather?”

That shut Uncle W up, and he never brought up the topic of his wealth again.  You see, Uncle W has no children and grandchildren, despite being married a long time, but Uncle H has three children and three grandchildren.

I had to laugh when I heard this story, because it is so typical of Uncle H to think on his feet.  It is incredible how he is able to come up with a quick retort, no matter who the other person is.

I, on the other hand, usually say nothing and walk away feeling depressed.  Then, two days later, I think of something I could have said in response.  But, it’s too late.

Man, why am I so slow witted?

What are you like?

16 Responses to “A quick retort”

  1. granny annie Says:

    That actually left me feeling a little sad for Uncle W:(

  2. Olga Says:

    Oh, yeah, I can come up with some great zingers…but never ever in the moment.

  3. DJan Says:

    I often think of a good retort but, like you, it’s usually too late to be useful. That was a good one, but I can relate to Uncle W. We’re in the same boat, except that I am not wealthy. 🙂

  4. Suzanne Says:

    I am like you. I think of a great reply hours or days later.

  5. Jeanie Says:

    When I think of a reply at a later time it is usually one that I am glad I didn’t think of to actually say to someone. 🙂

  6. Grannymar Says:

    Some days, the quick answers come to me, yet on others I am struck dumb! I actually thought Uncle H was very cruel with his remark. very hurtful.

  7. Lorna Says:

    You’re not slow-witted. I think like other sensitive people, you are taken aback by what is a cruel comment (perhaps not intended to be cruel, but the barbs and the hurt are still there), and are unable to give a come-back. Don’t fret about it. Thick-skinned, insensitive people are probably not very happy inside!

  8. Christine Says:

    I’m like you, I don’t think on my feet. Maybe it’s better that way, you think things through and are careful what you say.

  9. Joanne Says:

    I am generally struck dumb by the arrogance of others, and come off as the quiet person.

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Sometimes I have a quick retort, sometimes not. If the retort is hurtful, I try not to say it. That’s when you walk away. It’s OK. Dianne

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    Sometimes I can come up with timely responses, but then they might just escalate a bad situation, so I try to moderate myself.

  12. denise Says:

    I am usually taken by surprise at people’s inconsiderate remarks, and would never dream of saying anything so hurtful. I think about it for a while and wonder why they were said in the first place, and then move on realizing that person has a lot of issues that have nothing to do with me.

  13. Cathy Says:

    So many of my best ‘lines’ are spoken to the bottom of the bed after I’ve got home.
    Brothers can have a way of joshing with each other over so many things – sometimes unaware of the hurt they do, My lot use football teams as their weapon of choice lol
    Cathy

  14. Kay G. Says:

    I always think of the BEST thing to say…about TWO days later!!
    HA! We are so alike! 🙂

  15. LC Says:

    Gigi, I. too, rarely think of a comeback. I am usually okay with that except in some work situations I used to encounter.

Leave a Reply

