What’s it like in your home?

Hawaii 005-A

Hawaii.

There was football galore on Saturday and Sunday, and boy, did I hear more than I wanted to hear about the players and their awesome plays.  Lol.  That’s what happens when you are married to a sports freak like David.  But, it made me happy to see him happy, doing what he likes best, i.e., watching the NFL playoffs.  He predicts that Denver and Seattle will be in the Super Bowl in February.  We shall see.

I have enrolled in Hula for Kupuna (Senior Citizens) again.  The new six week session will start on January 22.  It will be nice to chat with my classmates and get some exercise, too.  Hula is great for the memory, because I will have to memorize hand movements, foot movements, and Hawaiian words.  I plan to review some hula videos at home to refresh my memory of the dances I have learned.

I believe that the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach.  In other words, food.  But, there is nothing worse than preparing food the same way, week after week.  That’s so borrrring.  Yuck.  My mother was like that.  When there was a bountiful harvest of string beans and squash from the garden, she would serve them every night the same way.  To this day, I will NOT eat string beans and squash.

So, I have been trying new recipes every week.  Saturday night, I made Shanghai Noodles for dinner, and Sunday morning I baked Peanut Butter and Jelly Muffins for breakfast.  Both were instant hits – mainly because they were something different.  I’ll bet if I were to serve them week after week after week, David would complain.

What’s it like in your home?

P.S.  I got the recipes for Shanghai Noodles and Peanut Butter and Jelly Muffins from the Internet.  Here are the links:

http://www.daringgourmet.com/2013/01/23/shanghai-noodles/

http://thesouthernladycooks.com/2014/01/11/peanut-butter-and-jelly-muffins/

14 Responses to “What’s it like in your home?”

  1. Olga Says:

    Exercise for the mind and body–can’t beat that. Good for you to find an exercise you enjoy…and can share with the rest of us.
    I like to try new recipes, but I can also be happy eating the same thing at least for a week. The PBJ muffins don’t tempt me, but the Shanghai noodles sure do!

  2. Christine Says:

    Gigi this is too funny I made the peanut butter and jelly muffins from the Southern Lady last night! Too bad about the squash and string beans.

  3. granny annie Says:

    If Ron liked something, he would eat it over and over and over. Then suddenly he would burn out on it and we would never have it again. Something else would come along and here we would go again.

  4. DJan Says:

    We are rather uninspired cooks, my husband and I. We eat the same things all the time, but it’s what we enjoy and don’t look for food to be exciting. But that’s just us: I’m glad you are getting the variety you crave in your food! 🙂

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    These recipes look awfully caloric. I am still on the ww plan and use recipes from them, also fromDiabetic Living magazine. We are both prediabetic and David is taking Metformin.

  6. Beatrice Says:

    I hardly cook! As only for myself would take too much time and effort. Usually I make only small dinners or eat out of the house, what I like.
    I am a good cook, but cooking is not my biggest passion, I am afraid…
    I don’t mind eating things I like very often!
    ❀❋☀
    Beatrice

  7. Denise Says:

    We would both get bored eating the same thing over and over again, but we do have our favorites that I fix regularly. For instance Gregg loves chicken and dumplings. I promised him I would fix them this week, always a hit in the wintertime. We also had football on TV a lot. Gregg loves his football, me not so much but then I am happy with doing other things and I also enjoy my computer. Thank you for the recipe links. I’ve always wanted to fix Shanghai Noodles and the muffin recipe sounds good too.

  8. Denise Says:

    Back again to thank you for your sweet comments, and to say how sorry I am that you are still having issues getting to my blog. It makes me even more appreciative that you make the effort. Thank you my friend, and have a great day 🙂

  9. Grannymar Says:

    What’s it like in my home? Very, very quiet. No husband or TV, so if I want noise, I get to choose what it is.

  10. Suzanne Says:

    Those Shanghai Noodles sound lovely. I have been cooking a little bit more this year. I tried homemade meatballs from grass fed beef with my own sauce recently. We also did a potato scallop dish last week. Both of those were different and very good.

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    I seldom use recipes for cooking. Our meals are pretty standard fare, but I do rotate them. We both eat our own same-every-day breakfasts and lunches because they suit us and they are healthy and limited in calories.
    Now as to the football, well I sure hope David is right in his prediction! But we have to get through the 49ers first and that is going to be fearsome football. There is no love lost between the Seahawks and their arch rivals. We will be watching from home Sunday, but Jill scored tickets for her and her brother.

  12. Cathy Says:

    We tend to eat for the season but every now and then I’ll pull soup out of the freezer in summer or make salad in the winter.
    Glad to hear you reconsidered your hula classes – I rejoined a gym I’d left a couple of years ago in favour of another one. Some of the same ladies were still going so it was nice to catch up with them. They were asking about the food on the cruise and if I’d worked it off by exercising in the on board gym – walking the promenade deck each day was my answer. 3 times round equaled 1 mile so I tried for 6 times a day.
    Take care
    Cathy

  13. Tom Sightings Says:

    I’m an outlier — I’m watching the Australian Open, not the NFL playoffs. But I certainly agree that the way to a man’s heart is thru his stomach — and I also believe that women are no different!

  14. R.J. Says:

    Experimenting with new recipes is fun. I like to put together various combinations to see if they are tasty. So far, it is working. I found a recipe online this morning that I have to try because I do something similar with veggies, but a few more ingredients will enhance the flavor.

    http://shine.yahoo.com/healthy-living/recipe-helped-jessica-simpson-lose-8-pounds-2-141100669.html

Leave a Reply

