A long lasting marriage

Hawaii 009-A

Hawaii.

I remember how David and I spent our tenth wedding anniversary in 1990.  We traveled to Croatia to meet my ex-boyfriend, who was a concert cellist.  That visit was fraught with excitement and pathos.  To understand how it affected our marriage, please click on the following link:

https://gigihawaii.wordpress.com/2007/04/07/infatuated-with-an-image/

I sometimes wonder why I am still married to my first husband of 33-1/2 years.  Why are we still committed to our marriage?  Why hasn’t he left for somebody “better,” and why haven’t I?

Good question.

I believe it’s because there is no one better.  No one else has swept us off our feet.

What I love most about David – besides his height and brawniness – is his dependability and reliability.  I can always count on my husband to be there for me.

And vice versa.

To have a long lasting marriage, what do you consider important?  What’s your advice?

12 Responses to “A long lasting marriage”

  1. Christine Says:

    I realize my husband and I have a lot in common in terms of our value system…family, financial, etc. Of course there are a lot of little things that we quibble about but we seem to be in agreement on most of the important things, most of them anyway!

  2. DJan Says:

    My husband is my best friend. We comfort each other in life’s trials and tribulations, and he’s also willing to bend to accommodate my needs, and I his. I think that’s why it’s working! 🙂

  3. Olga Says:

    You have a relationship based on honesty and it is a most precious thing.

  4. mageb Says:

    It’s nice that I love and care for him, but we also have so much in common. Being friends helps. Laughter really helps. DJan has it right.

  5. Grannymar Says:

    Don’t wonder, be thankful. Some of us were not given that chance.

    “Real friendship or love is not manufactured or achieved by an act of will or intention. Friendship is always an act of recognition.”
    ― John O’Donohue, Anam Cara: A Book of Celtic Wisdom

  6. Joanne Says:

    Steadfast reliability. And, you both have it. Good job.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Heck, I’m bossy and David likes being bossed around. I am an oldest child, he a youngest child. Dianne

  8. Denise Says:

    We are both blessed with wonderful husbands. I think communication is very important, laughing together, a little give and take, lots of things really. He has so many great qualities I admire. After 38 years I feel very fortunate that we love each other as much as we do, and still enjoy being together.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    I think friendship is the key. I would rather be with my husband than any friend or group of friends.

  10. Cathy Says:

    Your David must have been very trusting to take you to confront your lover. I suppose it was a case of ‘get it out of your system’ so we can gat on with life. It’s good to know you settled your differences and got on with life.

    Denise’s comment about communication as well as give and take is so true. The Golfer makes me laugh and has never tried to turn me into something I’m not. We’ll have been married 53yrs in April – oh dear that’s a long time. – not saying it’s been all lovey dovey but I reckon he’s the one for me. Imagine starting with another one at our age lol

    You must repost some more of your earlier entries – they are very interesting

    Take care
    Cathy

  11. Hank Chapin Says:

    The number one characteristic of my 51+ years marriage was CONVERSATION. Yes, we had reliability and trust, which are surely important, but it was conversation, in all of its forms, that kept the juices flowing and made it a fun experience. Both of us felt the same way and, naturally, along with many other subjects, we TALKED about it! 🙂

  12. granny annie Says:

    Laughter, honesty, someone who honors commitments and is faithful,

Leave a Reply

