Real love stories

Hawaii 010-A

Hawaii.

As you might know, Hawaii is one of the states that have legalized gay marriage.  I think it’s a good thing, because I believe in equal rights for all.  David, on the other hand, is against it, because he thinks it’s “abnormal.”

Nevertheless, I am so glad that my cousin will be marrying his lover this year.  I cannot find fault with their decision to commit to their relationship in this way.  Don’t they have a right to be happy like any other wedded couple?  Best wishes to them.

A friend of mine committed bigamy a long time ago.  I don’t know about now, but back then divorce was not allowed in the Philippines.  Her second husband didn’t know about her first marriage, and it was only after two children were born that he discovered the truth.  Needless to say, he was shocked, but she was so relieved.  Imagine keeping such an awful secret for all those years.  Somehow, the first marriage was dissolved, and my friend and her husband were able to renew their marriage vows legally in Hawaii.

Everywhere I look, real people have real stories to tell.  There is no need for me to fabricate a plot for my novel out of thin air.  I can embellish the truth, perhaps, but the bottom line is LOVE.  I know so many love stories like the two I described above.  Any romance I craft would pale in comparison to the real stuff.

12 Responses to “Real love stories”

  1. DJan Says:

    You’re right, of course. There are so many love stories to write about! I love that picture of the tree with red blossoms. It evokes some distant memory of a similar tree in Puerto Rico when I was a child.

  2. Jeanie Says:

    You are right that real life love has the best stories to tell.

  3. Olga Says:

    I tend to think love was around long before the rules and laws that seek to define it. Maybe it is the regulation of love that is abnormal.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    The author of ‘The Girl with the Pearl Earring” says she used Simon Schama’s book about the Netherlands during its Golden Age, “Embarrassment of Riches,’ as her “go to” book for historical fact for her fictional book. You don’t need to do a lot of historical research for a backdrop.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    PS I think the tree with red flowers is the “Flame of the Forest” which the British transplanted from South Africa when they established Foster Botanical Gardens.

  6. Christine Says:

    I love any kind of love story!

  7. Hank Chapin Says:

    I know of two cases of “double families.” In both cases, it was a shock when revealed that Dad had another family.

  8. Kay G. Says:

    This is why I really prefer non fiction to fiction.
    I love the true life stories of real people.

  9. mageb Says:

    I like this. Love for sure.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    Love stories are always heart warming, and they sell books.

  11. Joanne Says:

    Life is better than fiction and you have two lovely examples to illustrate that.

  12. granny annie Says:

    I believe in love and the importance of companionship. I’m just sick and tired of the twisting and hatred that is being created out of what should simply be ordinary life by now. Only judge me by the “content of my character”.

Leave a Reply

