Bet you didn’t know that

Hawaii 013-A

Hawaii.

David has completed one month on his new job and has already impressed his boss by figuring out the reason for a major discrepancy in the numbers.  (The mistake was made before he was hired.)  What an intelligent and experienced accountant he is.  He hopes he can keep this job until he dies for the sheer joy of challenging his mind.

Yesterday, we visited Home Depot to check out the folding closet doors there.  We chose the white louvered ones and intend to purchase them after the carpets are installed in Lisa’s bedroom and the master bedroom.

Speaking of carpets, our salesman will come to our home to measure the bedrooms today.  It is amazing that lasers are now used, and the measurements are automatically fed into a computer.  Lasers are more accurate than measuring tapes.

Bet you didn’t know that.

16 Responses to “Bet you didn’t know that”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Bet he’s easier to live with as well lol
    Actually it’s great to know David has proved his worth and has settled well into his new position.
    I was unaware of the laser treatment for measuring rooms to eastimate the amount of carpet needed to lay in a room. I wonder if its used by all companies – there are many older men who could just look at a room and know how many square metres they would need.
    Take care
    Cathy

  2. granny annie Says:

    I hope you have a sense of humor because there are times I think you and David might be like the couple on the British comedy “Keeping Up Appearances”. lol

  3. Christine Says:

    Good for David, it really highlights the value of experience. Amazing about the lasers, wonderful use of technology.

  4. Joanne Says:

    I didknow that about the lasers. Fascinating to see them in use.

  5. Joanne Says:

    haHa. Still typing with one blind eye and no glasses, so typos just keep happening.

  6. DJan Says:

    I am so glad to hear that David enjoys his new job. He’s definitely an asset in their company and in your life! I didn’t know that about lasers, either.

  7. Olga Says:

    Some people are just meant to keep working. I am so glad the David is happy in his new job. I hope it is challenging without being stressful. And I hope that you are pursuing the things that bring you joy and fulfillment while he is at work.

  8. Suzanne Says:

    That is wonderful that he likes his new job.

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Actually I did know. When we had our house appraised the appraiser used a laser to measure the rooms.

    I read Hawaii before we moved to Hawaii. I was an ignorant young girl, but I loved Michener’s books. His wife was Japanese, and he met her when he was in the Navy during WWII (I think ‘Sayonara’ is partially based on his own life). He left a huge personal collection of fabulous Japanese prints to the University of Texas when he died.

    The characters in his books are mostly based on real historical people. The film with Julie Andrews doesn’t do the book justice as it reflects only one vignette..the book is massive with many stories. Dianne

    PS While other kids bought Elvis records, I used my allowance as a teenager to buy his books as soon as they came from the printing press. Did I mention I loved his early books? I think ‘The Source’ is my all time favorite. I still have the books I bought so long ago.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I am reading Michener’s “Hawaii” for the first time and never saw the movie. He goes into great detail about the formation of the Hawaiian islands. I am impressed with his detailed descriptions and especially his immense vocabulary. What a fantastic writer!

  10. Denise Says:

    Me too, only because we had to have carpet measured and the man who did the measuring had one of these. Congrats to David and so glad he is enjoying his job and that it is challenging his mind.

  11. mageb Says:

    That book is endless. Enjoy,,,and the carpet too.

  12. mageb Says:

    PS: Congratulations. Glad the new job is going so well.

  13. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Could not reply to your reply, but wanted to share that Michener taught English. I.e. He was a teacher.

  14. Linda Reeder Says:

    I didn’t know about the laser measuring. Cool! And It’s wonderful to hear that David loves his job!

  15. LC Says:

    So glad David is now in a position where his expertise is valued and acknowledged.

Leave a Reply

