From can openers to fine art

Hawaii 015-A

Hawaii.

I have been having bad luck with the can openers that David buys.  I swear I have broken 10 can openers in the past 5 years.  I kid you not.  It’s so frustrating.  Yesterday, the wheel broke in half and came off while I was trying to open a can of chicken.  Prior to that, the handle broke off a different opener.  Plastic, steel, cheap or expensive, the doggone things don’t last more than a few months.  Grrr.  Even those automatic electric openers break.  What’s going on????  What brand of can opener do you recommend?

Anyway, on to better topics.  Lol.

My cousin and her husband sold their large house on Mariner’s Ridge and purchased a condominium in Hawaii Kai.  Oh, they just love their new home.  Instead of eating in their dining room, they have their three meals out on the lanai because of the splendid view.  Last month, they witnessed a Green Flash.  (Please google if you don’t know what that is.)  How pleasant to dine on the lanai.

I wish I had a view of the city or ocean or mountains.  On the other hand, I enjoy looking at the art on my walls.  So far, none of it bores me.  The more detailed a painting is, the more interesting it is.  I can stand in front of a painting, study the artist’s brush strokes, and appreciate his/her craftsmanship.

For instance, Ebert’s original oil of Kaneohe Bay appeals to me.  It hangs in my family room above the love seat:

Ebert's art 001-A

See the tiny sailboats in the bay and the small houses along the shore?  Why do you suppose the Koolau Mountains are painted blue instead of green or brown?

 

15 Responses to “From can openers to fine art”

  1. granny annie Says:

    Zyliss has great can openers. You can get their electronic ones for a reasonable price and their manual ones are good and also reasonably priced. Plus you can order them at Amazon and not have to depend on David to get it. Not sure if the shipping to Hawaii is higher though. Another thing is to always wipe the can opener clean after opening a can or the gunk will build up and ruin the opener. I learned that the hard way. Hope this helps.

    Interesting to read about a Green Flash. Thanks for the heads up.

    The mountains actually look more purple than blue to me and make me think of “purple mountain’s majesty”:) Lovely paintings.

  2. Christine Says:

    Lovely painting! I have a swing a way can opener I got from walmart, had it for years and years.

  3. DJan Says:

    I live about a mile from Bellingham Bay, and I know that the cost of having a view is too pricey for me to afford. I can walk there, and I see the water daily from other views than where I live. I would also enjoy looking at that lovely picture, Gigi. Anywhere in Hawaii is a beautiful place to live, if you ask me. 🙂

  4. Joanne Says:

    My Florida friends say they are “on the lanai.” It sounds so appealing.

  5. Suzanne Says:

    That is a beautiful painting.
    I have heard about the Green Flash and I always look for it but I have not seen it yet. How lucky they were to see it.

  6. Olga Says:

    People are always on the lookout for the Green Flash in the FL Keys. I love any sunset.
    Nothing lasts like it should anymore, it seems.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I love oil paintings, but have few of them. Mostly, I have lithographics. Dianne

  8. LC Says:

    Hubby is the cook in our house and he had the same problem. After years of frustration he found some little military can openers a (P51). He got a handful of them for about 50 cents each at an Army surplus store. He has been happy with opening cans ever since. Not useable without two functioning hands, though. Maybe I’ll check out the kind Christine has.

    Soothing painting.

  9. Tom Sightings Says:

    Love the painting. At the risk of sounding glib, I have the answer to your can opener problem: Frozen foods!

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    I don’t use can openers much, but I have an old manual one that has lasted a long time. Don’t think I’ve ever broken one. Most cans now have pull tab openers.

  11. Cathy Says:

    Had various models ( manual and electric) but always go back to our old style el-cheap manual one that has a cogged wheel with a butterfly turning mechanism. We do have a couple but one ( the older one) works much better than the other. It doesn’t get used that often but I’m going to be annoyed if that’s the that packs up.

  12. Grannymar Says:

    Maybe there is a hidden message in the breaking can openers: Eat fresh food!

  13. Musings Says:

    Green flash? That is so cool. I’d love to see that happen some day.

  14. renee Says:

    hello, i have an ebert painting. but i do not know her name. is it dagmar?

Leave a Reply

