New muumuus

Yesterday, I made my annual trek to the T & L Muumuu Factory, which is located next to the entrance to Ala Moana Center on Kapiolani Blvd in Honolulu.

New muumuus 001-A

It’s around the beginning of the year that the factory produces new aloha apparel, including long and short dresses, skirts, and shirts.  They are made in Hawaii.

New muumuus 002-A

I purchased these two muumuus that reach my ankles.  No need for hemming.  Cute, aren’t they?

New muumuus 004-A

My hula teacher told us that “muumuu” means “maimed.”  When the early missionaries forced the semi-nude Hawaiian women to wear long dresses that covered their bosom, arms and legs, the women felt so restricted that they felt maimed and disfigured.  Hence, they called these dresses “muumuu.”

Bet you didn’t know that.

However, muumuus don’t restrict me at all.  I love to wear them day and night, because they are so comfortable.  I even wear them when I travel to such places as Japan, Korea, Hong Kong, Macau, India and mainland USA.

When you visit Hawaii, you really should buy at least one muumuu if you are a woman and one aloha shirt if you are a man.  T & L Muumuu Factory is the place to shop for aloha apparel.

18 Responses to “New muumuus”

  1. Cathy Says:

    With all those styles colours and patterned materials how on earth do you go about making a choice Gigi?
    Are they the same style or is there something different? And most importantly will your beautiful necklaces go with them??
    Take care
    Cathy

  2. Christine Says:

    Will have to remember this Gigi!

  3. granny annie Says:

    And where do you buy your multitude of hats?

  4. Olga Says:

    What a multitude of patterns and colors! Give us a peek at your closet sometime. You always look so stylish in your muumuus and coordinating hats.

  5. DJan Says:

    They are pretty, and I look forward to seeing some pictures this year with you wearing them. 🙂

  6. Jeanie Says:

    It is great that you know what you like and know just where to go to find what you want.

  7. Tom Sightings Says:

    I didn’t know that — thanks for the interesting history lesson!

  8. palolo Says:

    How are their prices for aloha shirts and muumuu,s.

  9. Suzanne Says:

    I did not know that. What an interesting thing to know. I so enjoy wearing loose dresses.

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I knew the missionaries introduced them. The goal was to protect native women from predatory sailors who were not used to seeing half-naked females and introduced STDs into the native population. A laudable goal, don’t you think? (I wrote a paper on the Hawaiian missionaries for one of my classes.) Dianne

  11. LC Says:

    i enjoyed that bit of history and the photo of the shop filled with the colorful apparel. I’m with Djan looking forward to seeing you having wonderful times wearing the new additions to your collection.

  12. Linda Reeder Says:

    I like the colors of your choices. I did buy a muumuu the one time I was in Hawaii a long time ago. But here in the Northwest they would not be a favored fashion statement. We go for layers of fleece. 🙂

  13. Denise Says:

    Your new muumuu’s are lovely Gigi. Fascinating facts about the muumuu. No, I did not know that.

  14. mageb Says:

    George has half a closet filled with Hawaiian shirts. I got too fat for all my muumuu’s, darn it.

Leave a Reply

