Relaxed and happy

David 001-A

This is a photo of my husband, watching television with his headphones on.

Now that David works 20 hours per week as an accountant, he is much more relaxed and happy than when he was working 50-70 hours per week as a comptroller.  Sure, it’s less income and an entirely different industry, but he doesn’t care.  When he resigned from his previous job, it was like a huge boulder had been lifted from his shoulders. No longer is he depressed, agitated or angry.  He actually laughs now.

As his wife, I couldn’t ask for anything better.  You don’t know what I went through prior to his resignation.  It was very difficult to live with someone who was always upset and stressed out.  He is much calmer now, and so am I.

David enjoys working part-time and would love to remain an accountant until he dies.  If he loses this job for some reason, he intends to find another part-time job just to keep his mind sharp.

He is only 64.  Next month, he will be 65.  David has many productive years ahead of him.

Bottom line:  He’s relaxed and happy.

14 Responses to “Relaxed and happy”

  1. DJan Says:

    How wonderful, Gigi. I also use headphones when I watch TV. It keeps my partner from being bothered by the sound when he’s not watching. Also I am so glad things have worked out for David. 🙂

  2. R.J. Says:

    He seems to be at peace with his world. He has earned it. It is always good to turn that corner to find better things waiting. I have a retired friend who volunteers with the AARP tax preparation program for seniors and actually for anyone who needs free tax help. They find it very rewarding.

  3. Christine Says:

    Good for David! The part time job is perfect.

  4. Linda Reeder Says:

    The part time job sounds perfect, and something he should be able to do for a long time in his line of work.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Good for David. My David worked until he was 72. He came home one day and said, I just can’t take it-anymore. He retired shortly afterward. I retired at age 64 mostly owing to health issues. I have never missed it. The key is to keep mentally active… And physically active too. It doesn’t matter what you do.

  6. Olga Says:

    That is so wonderful. I remember you mentioning the stress–and that sure does have a way of affecting everyone in the house. It sounds as though David has found a very good place to be.

  7. Joanne Says:

    Like David, I could not imagine not working. I’m 71; as long as the township reelects me, I’ll be at my desk.

  8. Cathy Says:

    It is good to see David content after the upheaval of last year – from your posts it was evident it was as stressful for you as for him and we all understood what a hard time it was for both of you.
    Now you can relax and put it all behind you – find ways to enjoy each others company. Just for a laugh teach him some of your hula moves! Are you feeling well enough to tackle them now?
    Cathy

  9. L...w Says:

    Nice to hear that David is enjoying his new job…easing into retirement is good adjustment for the routine and pocketbook. At least that is the direction we’re thinking for ourselves too.

    L…w

  10. LC Says:

    So glad that has worked out–for you both. And my husband worked for a number of years in a toxic environment after the company changed ownership. I am thankful for happier times now.

  11. mageb Says:

    This is wonderful news. 🙂

  12. Denise Says:

    That’s wonderful, so glad he’s happy and you are too. Best move he made was to leave that awful job.

  13. Musings Says:

    I’m thrilled that David is much happier now at his new job. It was awful that he was suffering so much before.

Leave a Reply

