Rylan

My 3 year old grandson, Rylan, spent the day with me, because he had a fever the night before.  Normally, he goes to preschool.

Rylan 001-A

He started with a nice breakfast, consisting of yogurt, waffles, oranges, and milk.  The mochi crackers in the bag were to be eaten later as a snack.

Rylan 004-A

Then he watched a show on his dad’s iPad for an hour.  “Grandma, I’m smarter than you, because you don’t know how to use the iPad,” Rylan said.

Rylan 011-A

He enjoyed playing with his toy dishes.  “Mommy told me I can’t play with glass, because it might break,” he said.

Rylan 012-A

“Soup Day” was one of the books he asked me to read to him.  He had memorized some of the words and could identify the vegetables pictured in the book.  Could you identify pictures of zucchini and mushrooms when you were Rylan’s age?

Rylan 007-A

He drew a picture with his many crayons.

Rylan 008-A

This is Rylan’s Abstract Art.  He wanted me to draw a crab. I asked, “How many legs does a crab have?  Six?”  “No, eight,” he replied.  I told him I would draw a crab some other time.  This drawing is fine the way it is, and it is his work.

Rylan 013-A

Rylan:  “Fruit Snacks don’t make a mess and crumbs.”  Me:  “Who said?”  Rylan:  “I made that up myself.”

Rylan is my favorite grandson.  Actually, he is my ONLY grandson.  Ha.

12 Responses to “Rylan”

  1. DJan Says:

    He’s quite adorable, Gigi. You are so fortunate to have him close to you so you can watch him grow and change.

  2. Tom Sightings Says:

    You run a great day camp … I wanna come spend the day with you!

  3. Christine Says:

    He is such a cutie, sounds like a fun day with grandma!

  4. Jeanie Says:

    Your daughter is lucky that you are able to keep Rylan when that need comes up and you are lucky to get to have a fun day with your cute grandson.

  5. Joanne Says:

    He’s a cutie, and has quite the perspective on his world, too.

  6. granny annie Says:

    Smart and clever child:) Takes after his grandmother, right?

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I could identify veggies from our Victory Garden. I remember radishes, carrots, spinach, and watermelons best. I could read at age 3, but don’t know how many veggie words, I knew. I liked the story of Ferdinand the Bull best, so I knew matadors, picadors, etc.

    Ryan is a city boy, however, so he is doing very well to link veggie words with pictures. Now he must eat his spinach. Dianne

  8. jerrie Says:

    he is a cutie i have a grandson named rylan also he is 18 months he is my second grandson, having a grandson a boy is wonderful i know having a girl – fruit snacks one of my other grandsons favortie also he is four- that is when preschool starts they start early in hawaii at three. jerrie in va

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    It looks like Rylan’s mother packs a great day care bag for Granny to keep Rylan fed and happy. And I know he loves his grandma. I love no “mess and crumbs”!

  10. Suzanne Says:

    What a fun day .He is so cute!!!

  11. Jennifer Davidson Says:

    Aww, sounds like a fun day with your grandson. So good he’s got you so Mom doesn’t have to miss work.

  12. LC Says:

    What an engaging, smart little guy. You are blessed that he lives close enough to stay with you on a fever day!

Leave a Reply

