The next 20 years

David presented me with this box of chocolates on Wednesday, and rather than wait until Friday to celebrate Valentine’s Day, we devoured the chocolates post-haste.  Delicious!

Valentine chocolates 004-A

Valentine chocolates 005-A

That evening, he bought us a Chinese dinner from Panda Express.  Have you had Kung Pao Chicken, Honey Walnut Shrimp, and Fried Rice recently?

What a terrific husband.

Lately, David has been haunted by his own mortality.  He has been visiting life expectancy websites to predict his death.  After typing his age, height, weight, blood pressure, and other information, he learned he will die at age 72, 88, or 89.  Why the discrepancy he doesn’t know.

Then after doing the same for me, he told me that I will die at age 88 or 92.

So, assuming we’ll live 20 more years, how should we spend the time?

Well, instead of bemoaning the past, we should always try to extract as much fun out of the present and future as we can.

What does this entail?

For me, it entails spending time with my family, dancing the hula once a week, blogging regularly, and dining with my friends and relatives.  There are other ways to enjoy life, of course, but those four are key to my happiness.

What’s yours?

11 Responses to “The next 20 years”

  1. granny annie Says:

    I did one of those death clocks in 1998 and according to the time I was supposed to die on August 13, 2013. Whew, missed that one.

  2. Olga Says:

    There are things I just don’t want to know! I think you are wise to know what gives you joy and go with those things. And isn’t it wonderful to be at a stage of life where one can be more free to do things just for the pleasure they bring?

  3. DJan Says:

    I love my exercise routine and would be terribly unhappy without it, and my friends and family round out my essentials. I include my blogging friends in there, too. 🙂

  4. mageb Says:

    Yup, he’s a winner.

  5. M Says:

    Happy Valentines Day!

  6. Christine Says:

    I think I do the similar things as you! Yummy chocolates!

  7. LC Says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day and thank you for sharing yours. Of course, the downside to enjoying your post is having to mop up after all the drooling I did at all your edible treats.

    And about your reading Michener, “better” may not apply to me. Except for Bible and some commentaries, my reading is mostly light-weight escapist lit.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    The shrimp sound delicious. Those life expectancy tables are based on historical data, so you will both live longer than you think, because medicine is improving daily.

  9. Joanne Says:

    Sounds like you have your future well in hand. Chocolate in hand is also a good thing.

  10. Denise Says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day to you both! A lovely gift of a day also. I don’t think I will be visiting the life expectancy web site. Things that keep me happy, for one my husband. We enjoy even the simplest things together and consider every day a blessing. We have several friends now who have been widowed and we never know what’s in store for us, so we live each day to the fullest, be it a simple visit up to the store or traveling which we love to do when we can. We consider our son iour biggest blessing. I love blogging and photography, two of my favorite hobbies right now, and traveling, being out in nature, seeing wildlife. All these things bring me great joy.

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    My health and well being are important to me. I can’t wait to be able to resume my exercising and vigorous activities. I love working and playing in the great out of doors. I treasure my husband and our relationship. I want my kids to be happy and healthy. And I have a lot more exploring to do.

Leave a Reply

