This and that

Neighbors plants 001-A

Hawaii.

A blog friend called from India yesterday.  It was very nice to catch up since we last met in New Delhi in 2012.  She has a very busy life.

Alas, I am not able to call her from Hawaii, as David canceled our international phone service on our land line in order to economize.  So neither our land line nor our cell phones can reach India.  So sad.

Can you recommend a cheap way to make international calls?  What cell phone service do you use?

Meanwhile, back in Hawaii, we haven’t been doing much except for watching figure skating on television.  Everything else in the Winter Olympics is rather boring.  When the women start skating, I’ll definitely watch.  I think female skaters tend to be more creative, imaginative, and interesting than male skaters.  Is it just me or do you feel the same way, too?

I recently heard bad news about my cousin on the mainland.  He is now too disabled to practice dentistry.  I googled his condition and discovered that it is very common for dentists to have this disability, which occurs when they stoop over their patients’ mouths all day, every day.  How will he support his two sons, who are in college?  Prayers for him and his family.

Hope you all are healthy and happy.

20 Responses to “This and that”

  1. Oman Says:

    why not try wechat or viber. that is, if you have internet connection 🙂

  2. granny annie Says:

    We cannot make international calls on either land line or cell. I hope your cousin has good disability insurance. That is a sad situation.

  3. Suzanne Says:

    Oh my! Hopefully he can do something such as teach dentistry. I often wondered how they could stay stooped for so many years. I guess not all can.

  4. DJan Says:

    Have you thought about putting Skype on your computer? You can make phone calls anywhere that way, and if both sides have a video camera on the computer, you can even see each other as well. My dentist sits in a swivel chair and raises my chair quite high so she doesn’t have to stoop. Sorry to hear about his condition.

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    I have no idea if I can make international calls. I never make them.
    I have watched many hours of all kinds of Olympic events.
    Hopefully your cousin can collect some disability insurance, and as someone suggested, perhaps teach dentistry.

  6. Grannymar Says:

    Skype, I use it for calls to Australia, India and the US. You can use the video calling or just phone chat. It is so cheap!

  7. Cathy Says:

    If your phone option is not available to me Skype seems to be the way to go. Have your friend install it and if you see her online just call her up and have a one on one chat with vision. Have never looked into Skype phone calls as we have a good plan I would never give up. There are no extra fees on our bill if we don’t ring interstate or international but the facility is there if needed.

    Cathy

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I have a package from Verizon for unlimited calling for landline and cell, FIOS Internet, and TV. I like it very much. Sad to hear about your cousin. Hopefully he started college funds for his kids. I like the women athletes best, although I have not watched sports that much Dianne

  9. ~L. Says:

    Write using email or maybe write to each other in the Skype message and and during those writing conversations pre-arrange a time to talk on Skype. Skype is free for talking and video and IM. If you want to talk by calling her phone thats when you will have to decide to pay, but they have reasonable rates.
    ~L.

  10. ~L. Says:

    When my husband went to India we used Skype to keep in touch.
    ~L.

  11. Juicy J Says:

    Old school phone cards work also. I’ve had the same AT&T one for 15 years

  12. Christine Says:

    so sorry to hear about your cousin, life is so unpredictable.

  13. Christine Says:

    my girlfriend told me of this movie Philomena, it sounds like a good human interest one we might both enjoy!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Philomena_%28film%29

  14. Denise Says:

    Have you thought of Skype? It’s how my family in Europe communicate. There’s also FaceTime on Apple and I’m assuming that is international also. So sorry to hear about your cousin.

  15. Beatrice Says:

    Cheapest way to hold contact with India is via mail; this is what I do – or can you Skype?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Beatrice

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I will have to wait until my Indian friend sets up her new laptop computer before we can both Skype. It might be inconvenient for her, as she has international service on her cell phone.

  16. mageb Says:

    Skype everywhere.

  17. Musings Says:

    You could actually get Skype and do a phone call. It’s only about 1-2 cents a minute. I think. Here’s the address: http://www.skype.com/en/rates/

    I just bought credits for calls instead of paying the monthly fees.

Leave a Reply

