I am so impressed

Neighbors plants 003-A

Hawaii.  Cactus on my street.

I enjoy the company of my grandkids, ages 6 and 4.  They are angels compared to their mother (my elder daughter), who used to get into all kinds of mischief when she was their age.  For example, the security guard caught her, on three separate occasions, walking on top of the wall in front of our condominium.  One false move and Maria would have fallen four floors down and killed or maimed herself.  Crazy girl.  You won’t see Julia and Rylan doing something like that.

My 6 year old granddaughter, Julia, is a fountain of information.  She told me about Rylan, now age 4, and his classmates being put on time out at their preschool for using bad words.

Julia:  “If you say, ‘Doo-doo, shi-shi,’ the teacher will put you on time out.”

Me:  “Really?  What if you need to make doo-doo and shi-shi?”

Julia:  “Then, you have to ask, ‘May I use the bathroom?'”

Me:  “Oh, I see.”

Julia:  “You can say, ‘He farted,’ but you cannot say, ‘Fart.’”

Me:  “Gee, I didn’t know that.  See how stupid I am?”

Julia:  “Grandma, ‘stupid’ is a bad word, too.”

Wow, I thought.  This preschool is trying so hard to nip bad language in the bud, before it escalates into the F-word or worse.  Furthermore, they are training the kids to treat everyone with courtesy and respect.

Kudos to this preschool and its teachers.  I am so impressed.

13 Responses to “I am so impressed”

  1. denise Says:

    What a great conversation!

  2. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Hopefully, the lessons being imparted when these children are so very young will carry through life. Sadly, some may not.

  3. Christine Says:

    I am too! It is great they are teaching such good manners at an early age. The kids sure are growing up fast!

  4. Joanne Says:

    And good for your granddaughter taking the lesson to heart.

  5. DJan Says:

    How sweet! And I think this is a great preschool, nipping bad language in the bud. 🙂

  6. Jeanie Says:

    If they can keep pre-schoolers from saying doo-doo and fart they are working wonders.

  7. Tom Sightings Says:

    Too cute … all I can add is that me and my classmates, all over age 60 … we never use those words either.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I love your conversation with Julia. Little kids are so earnest, and the teacher has such power. Oh, that it would last.

  9. mageb Says:

    They are sure doing a good job of it too.

  10. Grannymar Says:

    Doo-doo and shi-shi are new words to me. Goodness, Gigi, you are teaching me bad language! 😉

  11. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I use bad words almost every day. I am for free speech! Dianne

  12. granny annie Says:

    “Stupid” was indeed the worst word that was used and certainly should not be used by children or adults.

  13. Olga Says:

    My grand son gets very upset by “bad words” but I have to admit I sometimes slip up.

Leave a Reply

