Herbal teas

As I mentioned previously, I love iced Kona coffee and drink at least five cups every morning.  However, for the afternoon, I am now interested in iced herbal teas, which are caffeine-free.  I like my drinks ice-cold.

These are two boxes of herbal teas, which we purchased from Target (note my new whistling tea kettle):

Herbal Teas 002-A

So far, I have tried the chamomile, the peppermint, and the lemon teas.

This is a glass of iced peppermint tea, which is refreshing:

Herbal tea 003-A

The verdict is still out as to which herbal tea I prefer the most.  They are all delicious.

Next month, I am going to host High Tea at the Waioli Tea Room in Manoa.  I have invited my sisters (Sylvia and Nedra) and my sister in law (Pat) to join me.  High Tea consists of finger sandwiches, pastries, scones, and tea cakes as well as 25 varieties of Harney & Sons fine teas.  This will be our first time experiencing High Tea, and we are looking forward to it.  I’ll be sure to post photos on my blog.

17 Responses to “Herbal teas”

  1. Olga Says:

    I drink two cups of coffee in the morning and and an occasional cup of herbal tea in the evening–always hot.

  2. Christine Says:

    Wow i should try these gourmet iced teas Gigi, looks so refreshing. Wish I could come to your high tea too!

  3. Jeanie Says:

    The Celestial Seasonings herbal teas are very popular here. They are made here in Boulder, CO and their tea factory tours are very fun….lots of samples and tastings.

  4. DJan Says:

    When I lived in boulder, I drank that tea, but it’s been ages. Glad to hear it’s still good. 🙂

  5. Denise Says:

    As I read your post I am drinking my early morning coffee. I enjoy tea as I did back at home, hot with milk. I enjoy herbal teas also, my favorite is chamomile with vanilla and honey. I’ve never thought of drinking it ice cold before but will have to try again. I am not generally a fan of iced tea as I don’t have sugar in either coffee or tea. I have a sweet tooth but gave up sugar when I was about 17 and have never enjoyed it in drinks since.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Sounds likea treat. Will you prepare the tea and cakes for the high tea?

  7. Grannymar Says:

    I drink a kettle full of boiled water in the morning, yes I do mean hot! Coffee comes later in the day and between times I have more hot water. I am not a fan of tea or iced drinks they make my body cold from the inside and I begin to shiver,

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I am not a fan of iced tea, which makes me an oddity, I guess.
    I do love to go to high tea, though! I’ll look forward to your report.

  9. Tom Sightings Says:

    I keep wanting to like herbal tea, but whenever I try it, it just doesn’t make the grade for me. I like Twinings English Breakfast, with or without caffeine.

  10. Suzanne Says:

    They look good. This past year, I have gotten into decaf Green Tea in the afternoons. I drink lots of coffee in the a.m. and then have enough caffeine for the day.

  11. Beatrice Says:

    Enjoy all teas, but peppermint is the best! Rooibos is great, too, if you want to call it a herbal tea….
    otherwise I am into a blend of Ceylon and Assam •●⊱╮
    Beatrice

  12. granny annie Says:

    High Tea is something that would have appealed to my father. Do men ever attend such a gathering? Oh my goodness how he loved his tea!

  13. LC Says:

    I am looking forward to your high tea post. i may give the herbal teas another try. I gave them up when the strong flavors of fruit teas aggravated my acid reflux. But I would love to have some no-caffeine choices for the afternoons.

  14. Cathy Says:

    Afternoon tea is always a great time to put on a ‘posh frock’ and enjoy yourself and I just know ‘you ‘girls’ will certainly enjoy yourselves.
    The Golfer’s club puts on a great one each Sunday afternoon – little tiny sandwiches cakes and pastries and tea in fine bone china cups with a saucer – such fun. Even The Golfer enjoys it lol
    .
    It’s hot tea for me – I like a Ceylon tea (not as bitter as Black) and with milk no sugar. We also drink Chinese Green Tea (lung ching) loose leaves not tea bags which I get from the asian food shop. Almost like drinking flavoured hot water but oh so refreshing
    Take care
    Cathy

Leave a Reply

